08
Jun
10

Sindragosa, and Why Its OK to Be Hero Support

Have you seen the movie Sky High?  Its a movie about superpowered kids at a high school for superheroes.  The main characters in the movie are “Hero Support” which means that they don’t get the glory, but work behind the scenes as sidekicks.

A hero can’t be a hero without good hero support.

While it may sound like self-promotion, I’ll come out and say that in our raids I’m usually the Hero.  My meter-topping dps along with my many “oh crap” buttons for survival give me a big role in the success or failure of our progression raids.

Until this weekend when I got the honor of playing hero support.  That’s right.  The honor.

The fight: Sindragosa, which had still been an obstacle for us.

Our early attempts focused on improving dps time to get through her health bar as fast as possible before we started to buckle under the weight of the raid damage and frost tombs.  At first, my dps lagged.  All the running in and out made this a relatively ranged-friendly fight.

With each passing attempt I learned the rhythm of the fight and the timing of the special abilities.  I used my Cloak judiciously and never had to stop attacking due to stacks of Permeating Chill.  My dps climbed and climbed until I was routinely running either #1 or #2 on the meter (behind our uber-mage).

However, while my personal performance was improving our raid was not making progress.  We wiped at 10-20% every time.

Our mega-tree healer made the key suggestion… put someone on dedicated Frost Tomb Breaking duty.  The logical choice: the rogue, who was the only melee dps in the raid.  My burst dps would get the tombs down quickly, it made Permeating Chill a non-issue, and it reduced the distance for me to run back after the frost novas.

Yes, we took the top dps off the boss and put me in a support role.  No complaints from me.  It made perfect sense. I know some players who would have complained about the hit to their personal dps.  I like to think that I’m more mature than that.

After a couple more attempts to get the timing down, the new strategy proved to be a success.

Sindragosa Kill

It was very weird.  Since I wasn’t targeting the boss I didn’t even know the kill was coming.  I was focused on the frost tombs, and got startled out of my focus by the achievement pane popping up in my field of view.

Did I top the damage meter?  Nope.  Did I do my job to the best of my ability?  Heck yeah.  The lesson here:  the raid is more important than your personal performance.

My role, while not measured on the meters, was crucial to the kill.  Remember that you can be a vital cog without being in the spotlight.

Now, on to Arthas…

11 Responses to “Sindragosa, and Why Its OK to Be Hero Support”


  1. 1 Tim
    June 8, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Now only if you can impart that on more DPS. If Cata comes true and it turns out we can’t just brute force everything, that attitude is going to have to become more prevalent than it is today.

  2. June 8, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Gratz on kill – the boss is dead, that’s what counts :)

    Good luck on Arthas!

  3. June 8, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I would much rather have a person who is a solid player willing to be utility/special assignment role than a top DPS that refuses to do what’s best for the raid, (screw you guys, I’m pew-pew)…

    Grats to you on your success :)

  4. 4 karmakin
    June 8, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I was actually trying to increase your damage output as you wouldn’t have to worry about the stacking debuff from physical hits :) Now my knowledge of melee classes as a whole is BLEH, but I thought you might be able to actually do more damage as a whole by focusing on the tombs.

    And for anybody reading this, I’ll just shill it. The cornerturn for our kill was getting the healers out of tombs ASAP. It turned the healing from impossible to actually quite doable.

  5. 5 Kae
    June 8, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Hehe… my guild’s first Sindy-10 kill used 3 offspec healers and put me (a resto druid) as the offtank for Sindy herself. With a cat spec and relatively weak bear gear, I was very much a pitiful dps, and only good for taking a few hits in P3 and praying I either had a cooldown for the breath or the MT would drop her stacks quickly enough to take it back off of me.

    Go go hero support :)

  6. June 8, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    As a person playing a class that often gets stuck with the “meh” jobs I must say that you did an outstanding job.

  7. June 8, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Sounds like you did a good job Din =) And its true being “Hero support” As you said isnt bad =) Pallys get that job a lot. With bubbles, Hand of Sacrifice etc =)

  8. 8 Hamacus
    June 8, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Congrats on the kill! “Hero support”….Shadow Priest have been that forever :p

  9. 9 Stonedrake
    June 8, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I love to see rogues as something other than butt-chewers. We have such wonderful mobility, and yet so many of settle in on a boss’s cheeks and go to town. Grats on the kill and thanks for doing something that shows we not entirely single role DPS monsters.

  10. June 9, 2010 at 5:22 am

    I just watched that movie last week on a suddden impulse for cheesy kids movies only to find it mentioend on your blog now. Randomly scary!

  11. 11 Svarog
    June 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    You can vanish every other Blistering Cold cast and stay in for more DPS ;-)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,200,382 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

