27
Apr
10

Using the LFD to level part 2 – the home stretch

I made an earlier post detailing my project to level using only the LFD system. Its gone well up to this week.  However, I’m now concerned that I won’t have the persistence to finish.

What changed?  Two things, and I’m not sure if they are related.

  1. I hit level 70 and am now queueing in Wrath instances
  2. Queue times have spiked up to 30-40 minutes

Now that I’ve reached current content in Wrath, the amount of XP it takes to level has jumped.  To get from level 69-70 took a little over 700k XP.  To get from level 70-71 takes over 1.5 million.  Twice as much XP means twice as many instance runs needed to level.

Yesterday I did a clear of UK, and it earned me 12% of a level.  At that rate I would need around 8-9 instance runs to gain a level, compared to 3-4 runs per level previously.

This was not unexpected, as the XP needed to level is not a secret.  However, in the past few days I have seen the queue time go from 15-20 minutes up to 30-40 minutes. Why has this happened?  Are there fewer players in the 70-72 range?  Or has this happened across all levels?  I’m hearing from people that queue times are high all over.

If I need 8 instance runs to level, and each run involves waiting 30 minutes in queue, that is four hours of downtime sitting in Stormwind doing nothing just to get one level.  Whew… what a great way to make use of my $15 per month.

The obvious solution is that I should go out and quest during the downtime.  That’s not the point of this project, though.  If I give in and quest to fill the time, then I will consider this project a failure.

For the moment I’m sticking with it.  I’m going to make sure that I only play when I’ve got a lot of rested bonus built up.  That means a couple of days off in between each attempt at running instances.  Also, I’m going to try and latch onto a level 72 tank in my guild and see if I can queue with him for faster times.  Still, at this rate I cannot imagine how long it will take for me to get to 80.  I think it may take as long to get from 70-80 as it took to get from 25-70.

4 Responses to “Using the LFD to level part 2 – the home stretch”


  1. 1 mediumsizedrob
    April 27, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I admire you for sticking to it so long. I’ve had a similar project in mind, but there’s no way I’d try it on a DPS class just because of the long queue times–especially from 70-76 or so. Once I hit 76 on my rogue I noticed the queues in my grouping went from about 20-30 down to 15 on average. I assume just because you’re now eligible for a larger number of dungeons. If you can make it that far it might get a bit smoother for you.

  2. 2 MegaMick
    April 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Sounds harsh… But yeah, queueing with a tank should help!

    1-Hug a tank
    2-Enjoy instant grouping
    3-???????
    4-PROFIT!! :D

  3. 3 Ringa69
    April 28, 2010 at 10:45 am

    what ive noticed is that the queues are long when you hit the Wotlk instances is because you only have 1 or 2 you can get into. once you get a few levels the wait time drops back to a normal level as you get back to the 5 – 6 instances available.

    what i did in my spare time on 1 of my toons was play the AH. filled in the time nicely and i was able to buy a few epics as i got close to 80.

    hope that helps to fill in the boredom.

  4. April 29, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Granted I cannot complain because I am leveling through LFD with a tank (me) and a healer (my friend) but even our usually ‘instant’ queues have went down the past week. Granted we are only about level 58 but it did seem to slow down a little.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,205,541 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

