21
Apr
10

Back on Track

My guild’s raiding has been stalled for quite a while now.  We’re sooooo close to having 25 for our raids that we refuse to give up on doing ICC 25.  Every week the guild core won’t let ourselves get saved to ICC 25, just in case we get enough for a guild run.  But then we don’t do ICC 10 either, because that’s our backup plan and we don’t want everyone to get saved to that before raid night.

So, every week its been about the same… wait for raid night, don’t have enough for 25, go to ICC 10 instead, get the first 4-5 bosses down.  Repeat next week.

Finally – things changed.  The buff from Varian Wrynn allows us to clear through the farm content very quickly.  We did the first 6 bosses in one 2-hour evening of raiding, and then found ourselves with time available the next night to move on to new content.

Happily, we were able to do Blood Princes and Dreamwalker on our first night of attempts.  We also got Putricide to Phase 3, so we’re close on that fight.  It was a good week.

Yes, we have the 10% buff from Wrynn.

Yes, we’re a couple of months behind the progression wave.

I don’t care.  I’m happy that we’ve moved forward at long last.

We’ve bounced around the idea of switching our guild’s focus to ICC 10 instead of 25, but we gained a few new people recently and we’re still sooooo close to fielding a 25 man team.

_______________________________

It was pointed out to me that I never did my boss guides for all of the ICC fights.  There’s a reason.  I won’t do a guide for a boss I haven’t killed, and my guild was so far behind in progression that I assumed the guides would be pointless now because most of us have already done the first 8-10 fights.  Still, I guess I’ll write them up for the sake of completeness.

7 Responses to “Back on Track”


  1. 1 MegaMick
    April 21, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Gotta love that buff! Maybe some day you can even try ICC25 without actually having the 25 people for it. Hell, that’s probably how my guild might end up doing ICC10! :P

    As for finishing the ICC tactics… Well, that’s how I ended up reading this blog, I was looking for Ulduar tactics and found yours! :D
    So you better finish what you started! ;)

  2. 2 Melpo
    April 21, 2010 at 9:10 am

    re: guides

    I have to say that your guides for the boss fights have been great for me. I don’t normally have the schedule to raid, but I want to. When the chance comes, whether via a rare time I am on when the guild would raid or if I’m in a PUG, I’ve used them to help me know what to do.

    While it seems like everyone nowadays is downing the Lich King, there are those of us that can’t. To us, your boss guides for rogues are a blessing.

    Thanks.

  3. 3 Backer
    April 21, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Good luck getting your 25 going! I’m quite excited for you and hope you can get them rolling again.

    I actually had a thought for a blog article… how do you handle splitting your 25 man group into 10s? I know I look here frequently for advice on guild leadership and that always turns into a touchy topic.

    • April 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      Hopefully Din doesn’t mind if I take over here and give some thoughts on this (as one of the guild’s raid leads).

      It’s a balancing act, and one that’s really difficult. We’re attempting to do it in such a way that some weeks we can put a best-of-the-best team together and push hard for progression. That’s what we did last week and we were able to get 2 (*almost* 3) new bosses down because of it.

      This week will be more inclusive. If luck holds out, we’ll have enough people that we can put two parallel runs together. If they can both at least clear the Lower Spire, it will be a pretty good weekend for us.

      If we can’t make two separate runs on the same night we’ll try to get one run on Friday with a mix of vets and greener characters and then do a separate team the second night, likely with some of the vets going on alts to plug some of the spaces. The idea will still be to get as many non-progression members as possible into the raid this week.

      Next week will likely be progression focused again, and we’ll bounce back and forth.

      It’s kind of a bummer, because there’s always people that have to get turned away. You hate having people sign up to raid and show up, and then be told they can’t go because not enough people showed the same courtesy. And there’s no easy way to deal with it. You just have to try to keep track of who gets burned this way and do your best to include them the next time. Whispering profuse apologies also helps…

      That’s the short answer. I may do my own post on this next week sometime. It’s a good idea and not one I’ve covered specifically.

      • April 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm

        I don’t mind you stepping in here, Saniel. Its really your question more than mine. I try to leave the raiding decisions to you.

        We have those who lean more toward the hardcore side, valuing progression. We also have those who are extremely casual, rarely playing but hoping to be included when they are online. I just try to keep the balance to everyone is satisfied (or as close to it as possible). I let you and the other raid leaders set everything up, and only put in my two cents if I see something awry (which rarely occurs).

  4. 6 mobius
    April 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Dude. your guides are the only reason i didnt suck in uld! Keep up the good work bro

  5. 7 Vulpina
    April 22, 2010 at 8:11 am

    I actually very badly want a guild for Dreamwalker. Please! I have looked for hints and tips for Assassy rogues in that fight because I feel minorly useless! My guild currently has me killing suppressors when they come out and running to help kill the skellies when they appear. My problem is, usually a Lich guy comes out with a skellie and I get slowed! By the time I get to the skelly to kill it, it’s dead. I end up running (still slowed) to the Lich to kill/interrupt it… but $&@^@$^%&^@$ it’s so frustrating!!

    How do you do this fight?! Do you just sit on the Liches and interrupt them? Do you just kill supressors and forget about helping with the skellie?

    … and … gasp… do you spec Combat for this fight? That’s the only tip I could find! Spec Combat! GROSS!

    So. Please!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,207,911 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

