20
Apr
10

Look at all the Horsies

Celestial SteedThose Celestial Steeds are all over the place.

Bloggers everywhere are gushing about their pretty ponies.

Armies of these things are surrounding Dalaran banks and ICC summoning stones.

Am I the only one that thinks that its not worth almost two month’s of subscription fees to get something that you barely use in the game?

I’ll admit that I’ve never been a mount collector.  In BC, once I got my flying I bought a single gryphon, and then when I got epic flying I picked up one Nether Ray, and that was it.  To me, the flying mount was a means of getting from place to place.  The vast majority of my game time is not mounted, so it didn’t seem like a worthwhile pursuit.

At least in BC the epic flying mount got you places faster than the taxis, so there was a purpose.  In Wrath the taxis are generally faster.  The only time I use a flying mount is to go to ICC or fly up to Ulduar.

As an aside, my utter lack of interest in mounts has made for a funny situation in my guild.  We have two hardcore mount collectors – going for the Mountain o’ Mounts achievement.  They are both pretty close, but missing the rarer ones.

So when we are in a group, I invariably jump onto my Black Drake from Sartharion 3D.  Or my Blue Proto-Drake from Skadi in Utgarde Pinnacle.  Or, the worst, my Blue Drake from Oculus.  I have gotten that Blue Drake in my bag six times after finishing random heroics in Oculus.  My two friends have yet to see it.

I don’t go out of my way to get mounts, so I won’t be getting a sparkly pony.  I’m not criticizing those who have the disposable income to get the RMT mounts and pets, but its not for me.  With three WoW accounts in my house, Blizzard already gets enough of my money.

6 Responses to “Look at all the Horsies”


  1. April 20, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Agreed. I don’t have any problem with other people spending their hard-earned dollars on pixels if they choose to, mostly because I already do the same thing with my monthly subscription… but it seems just silly… not because they paid $25, but because SO MANY people have them right now, they have totally lost any sense of uniqueness :P

    Maybe give it a few months when people move on to other things/forget they have them, and you don’t see as many around anymore.. then they might seem cooler… right now they are so common they seem cliche.

  2. 2 MegaMick
    April 20, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I don’t know why, they remind me of the Robot Unicorn Attack flash game:

    http://games.adultswim.com/robot-unicorn-attack-twitchy-online-game.html

    Anyway, I think they’re too common. I’m not anywhere near being a vanity collector. I don’t care about vanity pets, or rare mounts. But I do like flying around in a mount that doesn’t feel too common. I used to ride the Engineering Turbo Helicopter, but it was sort of common after a while, and this time I helped a friend with a couple of achievements for the Red Proto-Drake and I noticed then that I had most of them done anyway, so I thought what the heck, the Red Proto-dragon looks awesome, so I might as well do this. Took me a couple of days to finish the achievemnts I had left for it and I’ve been happy ever since.

    As for paying… I feel bad enough for paying the monthly fee, let alone paying for vanity stuff.

    …I’m so very glad they don’t sell epics…

  3. 3 dorgol
    April 20, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I have the Mountain o’ Mounts Achievement (104 mounts, currently). I even paid a guildy 10k gold for the Black Drake from Sarth 10 man AFTER getting the 100 mount Achievement. I just love mounts.

    I won’t be getting the Sparkle Horse. It just isn’t worth my real-world money.

    So even us collectors are able to resist – or at least THIS collector is. :)

    *Side note #1: I also collect pets (I have 106 or 107) but I haven’t bought any of the pets from the store.
    *Side note #2: I have the Blue Drake on my Warlock and Warrior. I also have the Blue Protodrake on my Warrior. My mount collector (Paladin) has neither. Sooooo frustrating.

  4. April 21, 2010 at 1:22 am

    I know which “Friends” Your talking about /emo. But anyway. I got the mount. Only because Its one step closer to the Achive. + Using my mutated barney the Dinosaur less is ok for me.

  5. April 21, 2010 at 2:30 am

    I would do it if it were like what they did with the Pandaren and Lil KT pets, where the proceeds benefitted something. As it stands, hundreds of thousands of people waiting in line to pay $25 of real money for something that was created and designed by a few people and has no tangible value. Selling virtuality; it’s Blizz’s forte, and this was a big feather in their cap for the ability to do it.
    Meh. They should donate 75% of income from this mount to some sort of horse ranch therapy program for disabled children or something similar. Or build a planetarium so kids can see the constellations. Something… real.

  6. 6 Marek
    April 22, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I got one just so when I get my 310% Violet Proto during children’s week, I don’t have to use it to take advantage of the speed boost. I do fly a bit and want to get where I’m going quickly. I really do not like the Proto Drake mounts, they are just big and clumsy.

    It’s also BoA, so that’s nice too.

    - Marek


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 92 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 91 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 92 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,219,830 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

