25
Mar
10

What bosses have you Evasion-tanked?

If you’ve raided a lot as a rogue, you’ve probably had to evasion-tank when a tank died or if a dps (maybe you) pulled the boss off the tank.  Sometimes its just a matter of staying alive untl the tank can taunt him back.  Sometimes, though, its epic.

This past week we were doing a Sartharion 3D zerg to get someone their black drake mount.  With about 5% health left, the tank died.  I immediately went into emergency-mode.  I was third on the threat list when the tank died.  If I were a plate-wearer, or  druid with bear form, I might have tried to tank him and see if the healers could keep me alive.  As a leather-wearing rogue, there’s no chance of that.

So, I pop Vanish to wipe my threat.  Yes, that means that Sarth and all the adds are going after the healers now and then the ranged dps.  No matter – once the tank classes are dead the healers have no purpose anymore since Sarth can one-shot all the leather and mail dps.  While Sarth is running around munching on the rest of the raid, I’m dpsing and keeping Rupture up so the DoT will keep ticking after I die.

I’m watching his health bar drop as the remaining dps unloads on him.  Finally he gets down to my spot on the threat list.  Sarth turns to me and I hit Evasion.  Dodge, dodge, dodge, and down he goes.

That’s the second time I’ve tanked the boss down to his death on a Sarth 3D zerg.  I also evasion-tanked Prince Malchezzar from 1% to dead back in the Karazhan days.  I’m sure I’ve done similar things on other bosses, but Sarth and Prince were the ones that stand out.

Have you evasion-tanked a boss to its death?

19 Responses to “What bosses have you Evasion-tanked?”


  1. 1 Vulpina
    March 25, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I’ve evasion tanked quite a lot lately. My rogue is my main, and her gearscore is getting rather high, so in my daily random heroic even if I’m legitimately trying to stay lower than the tank’s threat it’s sometimes hard if they’re undergeared. So I quite often do it then.

    I have evasion tanked the last bit of 3D Sarth like you. And also the last few percentages of a Toravon kill. That one didn’t end up in a win, but I was alive for a ridiculiously long time. Evasion and then a pot, Lifebloom, and a ‘lock cookie = rogue tanking for an impressively long time.

  2. 2 Aylie
    March 25, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Two bosses I can remember:

    1) 25 man Koralon in a PUG. Raid dps was quite low and people started to die, I was high on threat so I vanished (exactly the same reasoning as yours + I was close to top DPS there, so the longer I stay alive, the better). I stood alive quite long and then died just before boss did. Evasion saved the day :).

    2) Recently on Razorscale10 weekly raid quest. No idea how but people managed to get themselves killed in ground phase. Again: vanish, evasion and I tanked her from like 4% to 0, made it alive this time :).

    As for keeping rupture on boss I’m not sure if that’s what you should do if you’re last man standing. If you die (and have no priest with spirit of redemption or something like that), boss may reset and your rupture ticks will go to waste, while your evisc/envenom crit could kill the boss.

  3. 4 MegaMick
    March 25, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I’ve had to try that a few times, but when it works, it’s epic indeed xD
    Sarth+3D is probably a classic one because it’s often that the tank dies at 5%. I’ve evasion tanked that successfully at least once, it was a long time ago tho.

    That I can remember, the longest evasion-tanking I did was in a Toravon25 pug, a monthish ago, with a few guildies and friends mixed in, at around 10-15%ish. One tank died, and then the other. I was pretty high in the threat list since I was trading TotT with another Rogue, and there were plenty of dpses alive so I thought I’d just Evasion tank it instead of Vanishing so that there’d be more dpses alive for the last bit: It was epic because I turned out to chain-dodge for pretty much the full duration of Evasion, we finished the boss with me tanking instead of the tanks, and we even took our time. Felt imortal then! xD

    The most rewarding evasion tanking I did tho, was in ToGC10, the hard mode, probably a couple months ago. I was with a few friends from another guild and we were doing the insanity run for the mount. Needless to say we didn’t want to wipe. So we were fighting Anub’arak, and well, people started dieing early in the 3rd phase. I don’t quite know who died first, tanks or healers, but I hit Vanish to stay alive for a bit longer and to get the Overkill active for a bit more dps. I wasn’t really high in the threat anyway because I wasn’t one of the top dpses there. And when it was my turn to die I hit Evasion. I used CoS and a health pot to live thro the health leach for a bit, and nuked as hard as I could. I have no idea how long I lasted, but it felt like a bit, and then both me and the boss died. There were a couple of shamans up then, probably used self-rezz as well for a bit more dps. This nice combination of events lead to me and a few more to get the achievement for Insanity, a nice alliance mount for a friend, and I got the cloak from the Tribute Chest! This one was pretty fast tho. But it sure payed off! Thanks for the invite Beerend! :D

    I can’t really remember any other time… I’ve probably done it in Vanilla or TBC but I don’t think there was anything as close as epic as these recent ones. Probably not even raids.

  4. 5 mobius
    March 25, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Drak’Tharon Keep. King Dred. The tank died and left group on a pug. I evasion tanked the big dino…we then waited for a new tank, Nothing. So I then proceeded to tank the rest of the instance! The whole upper floor with all the pacs waiting on evasion then FoK tanking everything with Blade flurry and A-rush. Then as you know, that end boss is really not a big tank deal so i tanked him too! It was beyond epic. Sure I was geared pretty well, but felt good!

  5. 6 Kayeri
    March 25, 2010 at 11:36 am

    One time only… My rogue was happily beating on the last few slivers of Marrowgar’s health bar when suddenly both tanks died… that health bar was SO low it couldnt be seen as any green at all… It was blazingly fast, but thought process was something like, “oh no I am NOT wiping at this point, no freaking way!” and I hit evasion and kept right on hitting him… and after the longest seven or so seconds of my life during which he thankfully could not hit me (I guess, I was alive, after all) he dissolved into a pile of disjointed bones…

    My rogue walked around with quite the large head for about a week after that…

  6. March 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Done it countless times in heroics, but the only notable one in raids is Sarth 3D. Managed to finish it off with a 16k eviscerate crit to kill him, last man standing. Got the title, the drake, and the glory. Good times.

  7. March 25, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Not really an evasion story, but I’ve done similar things on my Paladin with a bubble. It is not really as epic as a Sarth + 3 kill because I don’t have to rely on the dodge chain, but the second boss in MGT (the arcane elemental guy) at level 70 was a prime candidate for this type of action. I used to be last man standing on him often and was able to bubble and knock off his last few percentage points of life.

  8. March 25, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Nice!

    Interesting that Sarth comes up several times. Marrowgar is a cool one, too. Razorscale is impressive because of the fire damage which can’t be dodged.

  9. March 26, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Chalk up another one for Anub 10 HM on our Insanity run.
    Even though, in all fairness, it was dual evasion tanking, the other rogue in our group biting the dust with 20k health left on anub and me being the last man standing in the end.
    Pretty epic moment right there.

  10. 11 Pathian
    March 26, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Festergut 25 a month or two ago. We were low on dps and were going to hit a ~1% enrage. I blew Evasion (only about 80% unhittable because of Chill of the Throne) with 5 seconds left and Cloaked as the timer hit 0. The first tick of enraged Gaseous Blight wipes everyone but me and Evasion/Cloak kept me alive long enough to finish.

  11. 12 Hastore
    March 26, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Tanking King Dred was fun… along with a host of adds when the tank decided he wanted his achievement, but didn’t tell us and apparently forgetting that healers do need LoS and to be within 40 yds… the adds died but then the tank went down, so tanking Dred from 50% to 0 was interesting to say the least :D

  12. 13 Squelchy
    March 27, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Our very first Anub-10 Hard Mode kill, actually, a while back. Or was it the second? Whatever the case, Evasion saved the day. Still puts a smile on my gnomish mug.

  13. 14 Valker
    March 29, 2010 at 6:25 am

    ToC HC, one of the Val’kyr for about 40s and long ago Gluth in Naxx whan we have 1 tank;)

  14. 15 Argathne
    April 6, 2010 at 1:58 am

    Well as you know Din i dont really roll a horde…..But Hodir and Rotface Remember my pally quite well =)

  15. 16 Argathne
    April 6, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Err. And by Horde I mean Rogue….Dont know how i got that

  16. 17 elmuerto
    April 6, 2010 at 9:14 am

    two weeks ago, rotface 25 man hit the ground after i evasion tanked him and just managed to finish a 5 point rupture+poisons dot on him.
    i think rogues being last man standing is actually quite common, because we always have our fingers hovering over the panic button anyway, due to our aggro. as combat with almost complete bis gear not counting heroic mode, i am usually arro place 2 or 3. if the “tank died” message yells at me, i know i am going to shake hands with the boss pretty soon.

    i remember some rogue colleague tanking bosses to death in allmost every instance i’ve ever been in, MC, BWL, AQ, uldu, icc…

  17. 18 Jheherrin / Kasreyn
    April 9, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Are there any bosses in ICC that can be avoidance tanked by rogues?

    I remember watching videos of a rogue in TBC who tanked Mother Shahraz and Gruul in full avoidance gear.

    • April 9, 2010 at 7:45 am

      In TBC rogues were able to get their avoidance up to 100% (with the help of buffs from other classes and -hit debuffs on the boss). The change in coefficient of agility to dodge and different itemization on gear makes that impossible now, as far as I know.

      In TBC 20 agility = 1% dodge. At level 80 47.8 agility = 1% dodge.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,093 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

