21
Jan
10

Loot Torture

One of my guild’s main tanks is on a bit of a sabbatical as his school semester has started.  For us to run ICC, then, we needed to bring in another tank.  We have two top tanks, and after that our next level of geared tanks are all alts of core raiders.  Last night in ICC it was my turn to set aside my main and take on tanking duties as a prot pally.

We got through the first four bosses pretty handily.  Other than a few hiccups on Lady Deathwhisper, the run went very smoothly.  We even one-shot Saurfang, despite it being the first time seeing the fight for a few of the players in the raid.  We managed to earn the I’ve Gone and Made a Mess achievement for those who didn’t already have it.

On the plus side, this was a good week for me on my paladin.  Most of my tanking experience before this was in heroics.  In the past week I have tanked 25-man Ignis for the weekly raid, and 10-man ICC (through Saurfang) twice.  I got Titanguard from FL25, received the first rep ring from Ashen Verdict and now have enough Emblems of Frost to buy the tanking trinket.

But there was loot torture aplenty in our ICC run.  Since I wasn’t on my rogue, I had to stare in horror at this debacle…

First, Marrowgar drops the Shawl of Nerubian Silk.  I have coveted that on my rogue.  It went to a hunter.  That was like a stab in the heart.

Next, Deathwhisper drops the Chestguard of the Frigid Noose.  There was no leather wearing dps in the raid, so it also went to the hunter.  Rip my lungs out, why don’t you?

Finally, Saurfang dropped the Scourge Stranglers.  I don’t even remember who got those – either the hunter again, or the druid tank.  At that point everything was all hazy through the tears in my eyes.

So the thrill of successfully tanking ICC was blunted by the disappointment of seeing all MY gear go to other players.  As if its not bad enough seeing hunters pass me on the damage meters, now they are taking my leather gear!  Loot rage !!!! lol

19 Responses to “Loot Torture”


  1. January 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Ouchy :*(

    Never fails. lol

  2. January 21, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Oh HUGS. Big, big, “I lost my loot” HUGS.

  3. 4 Vulpina
    January 21, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Oh man that hurts. D:

    Not all hunters are bad though, the delightful hunter in my raid gave me the Whispering Fanged Skull after she rightfully won it.

    But, ouch man. That sucks. At least the gear didn’t get sharded…

  4. January 21, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Actually, the chest went to the Druid tank. The hunter got the wrists.

    Not to, you know, rub salt in the wounds… :-)

  5. 6 aveiceae
    January 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    ouch… I’m sorry! if it makes you feel any better, I’ve barely seen ANY rogue loot drop yet in ICC… *shakes fists at the RNG*

  6. 7 Cheres
    January 21, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    We haven’t passed you on the dps meter yet but we’re coming dangerously close. We get so little thrills and loot its our private joy to see the meter filled with green. Mostly we’re just competing with each other anyway :)

  7. 8 Thimble
    January 21, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I just got that cloak on Tuesday (not to rub it in). It’s one hell of a nice upgrade from the Shawl of the Shattered Giant, and I couldn’t get anything else between then and now.

    It pushed me to the point where I finally have enough expertise to ditch Victor’s Call (at least for the time being), and that makes me awfully happy.

  8. 9 MegaMick
    January 21, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I feel your pain, I raid ICC often on my alts… Seeing Rogue stuff when I’m not a Rogue… Totally hurts. I hate RNG now. I’ve been raiding Icc since it’s out, and the only loot I ever got there was an off-spec 2h sword for my tanking alt… Well, at least I got emblems of frost.

    And don’t get me started on that Cloak! A Hunter won that over my Rogue, and the one I currently have is still ilvl 219! Ghah! xP

  9. January 21, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Thanks for the sympathy, all. :) I just hope that I get to bring in my rogue sometime soon and take another shot.

    Cheres – you and Norfin did top the meter in our last ToC run. I’ll post the parse on the forums so you can see.

  10. January 21, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Saniel – I would make that correction to the post, but it hurts too much to type it :)

  11. January 21, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    We could mention the REAL reason your upset about a hunter getting the loot ;)

  12. 13 Cheres
    January 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

    What you mean that the hunter was his brother? :P

    And I’d love to see the parse Din. I’m comparing Norfin’s SV spec to my MM

  13. 16 Johnnyboy
    January 23, 2010 at 8:56 am

    I hate going from rogue to tank (paladin) I immediately start spamming two which is mutilate on rogue but I look like an idiot spamming seal of rightousness.

  14. 17 Argathne
    January 29, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Ah. Still feel bad about that happening to you man. If it makes you feel better when i went on Death a few days (Or week I cant remember) 3 things Arg would want dropped for him. But at least you got that shiny trash epic tonight. Right?

  15. January 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Its all good, Arg. I really don’t care about the loot, except that I need to keep up with Azucar or he’s going to start kicking my butt on the meters.

    Actually, what makes it annoying is that there were no tanking drops. If I’m going to bring Derence, at least lets get him some loot love!

  16. 19 Argathne
    January 30, 2010 at 2:42 am

    Haha. I agree 100% Only the 2h sword dropped for Death. And a dps Cloak,Helm and Boots dropped when i went on Death. And even then about a day or two back i had already gotten a 2h and gemmed it up. So yeah. Loot just sucks when it makes you have to gem AGAIN and see other loot your main would want get DE’d =)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,550 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

