08
Jan
10

Rogues nerfed, news at 11

We all saw this coming, so there is not really any cause to complain.  I agree that rogues (especially mutilate rogues) were outperforming everyone else by far too great a margin to go without fixing.

So here’s the hotfix, which was applied Thursday night:

  • The base damage bonus from Hunger for Blood has been reduced from 10% to 5%.
  • The bonus damage rogues gain from attack power for poisons has been decreased. This applies to Instant Poison, Deadly Poison, and Wound Poison.

Remember that HfB was reduced from 15% to 10% not long ago.

I know they were going for a quick fix.  I just wish they taken more time and found a more subtle adjustment in the mechanics.  HfB is an easy and obvious place to make cuts, but its a heavy-handed way to do it.   I always liked HfB, even when we had to stack it and refresh its stacks.  However, as time goes on and it keeps getting weakened it becomes a less interesting talent.

According to the theorycrafters at Elitist Jerks, this change reduces mutilate dps by around 7% and combat dps by around 2% (pending further testing).  Mutilate still comes out ahead of combat spec on tank-and-spank bosses, but they are quite close and its possible that there will be fights where combat is preferred.

In my 10-man raids, we typically bring two rogues.  We are both mutilate spec.  I considered switching to combat for the Savage Combat buff, but the decrease in my personal dps outweighed the overall gain from the extra raid buff.  Now, though, it might be worth it.  Further testing will tell.

I think there are probably a couple of hunters in my guild who are looking forward to the damage meters for our next raid.  :)

P.S. – we also got this…

  • Stealthed rogues should no longer trigger traps in Ice Crown Citadel from long range
6 Responses to “Rogues nerfed, news at 11”


  1. January 8, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    seems like overkill on the HfB nerf. i mean, rogues dont bring enough raid utility to validate being anything other than the top dps, and its not like theyre outperforming by 10 fold or anything. were only topping on certain bosses, and theyre the ones that appeal to our class mechanics (i.e. – spank n tank single target).

    seems like a rash move by blizz tbh.

  2. January 9, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Its only one case, but I can tell you that my guild’s two rogues topped the damage meters on *every* fight, even the ones that were not melee-friendly. The only exception I can recall is Faction Champions in ToC. I think we might have been passed by a mage on Lady Deathwhisper once.

    In my raid last night, the first one since the nerf, a survival hunter finished #1 and a marksman hunter #2. The rogues were #3 and 4. The MM hunter isn’t nearly as well geared as the rogues, either.

    So, its a new world for our guild. Our top 5 or 6 dps are all pretty close, and will probably juggle the #1-5 spots depending on the fight. That’s probably how its supposed to be. They are all “pure” dps classes, though. No hybrids muscling in on our territory.

    Now, if the hunters beat me in a stand-and-fight boss like Saurfang, THEN I’ll be upset.

  3. January 10, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I’m finding hunters and rogues are still dominating the damage meters in recount. Although I have noticed I was hitting just over 10k on some bosses before the 2 nerfs and now I’m hitting just over 9k.

    This is slightly dissapointing since I was aiming for breaking that 10k barrier and just as I hit it the goal posts have been moved.

    Still you’re right… It is no surprise this was coming. However, my point is I’m hearing a lot of people shouting out for rogues to be nerfed but I don’t hear people compaining about hunters? Or any other classes.

    I think Rogues get a rough deal but then again I couldn’t care less what other classes say. We are the “glass-machine guns”.

    Hunters and Mages should be out-damaging melee on fights involving a lot of movement but the same goes the other way.

    As the saying goes… As long as we get the bosses down and I’m doing the best I can to deal as much damage as possible or control the crowds I’m happy; I don’t want to stand next to the boss on every fight and hit my rotation. I do want some play… Moving in and out and hitting/controlling adds etc. It’s a much more of a fun fight and don’t care who comes top of the meter.

    Hybrids did have it too good before and now some seem to be QQing. I’m sure they knew back then it wouldn’t last forever but they got a little used to it. For me I’m a rogue through and through and couldn’t really care less if they nerf us a bit more. I’m still going to play a rogue.

    • 4 Cheres
      January 12, 2010 at 11:39 am

      Oooohhh we’re comin for you silly rogue man. And we’re bringing fine tuned specs, true shot aura, crappy gear and pet snacks!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,424 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

