31
Dec
09

ICC Rep Runs – Get In There!

You’ve probably seen people asking in Trade chat about ICC rep runs.  If you haven’t done them, get in there!  If you’re not even sure why people are doing this, read on.

Killing mobs in ICC gives rep with Ashen Verdict. This is great rep to have.

If you were around in the Karazhan days, you’ll remember that Kara kills got you Violet Eye rep, and each level of rep got you a better ring from the guys standing outside the instance.  The same is true here.  Levels of Ashen Verdict rep get you increasingly better rings.  Here they are:

Friendly:   Ashen Band of Vengeance (iLvL 251)
Honored:   Ashen Band of Greater Vengeance (iLvL 259)
Revered:   Ashen Band of Unmatched Vengeance (iLvL 268)
Exalted:   Ashen Band of Endless Vengeance (iLvL 277)

On a rep run, the raid is just killing the trash in the first area, and then running out and resetting the raid.  Since no bosses are killed, you don’t get saved to the raid and you can run it with your guild at a later time.  There is no limit to how many times you can do this.  On my server, there are groups that just spend the whole day grinding Ashen Verdict rep this way, swapping people in and out as needed to keep the raid full.

Also, there are crafting recipes available at various levels of Ashen Verdict rep.  I’m not going to list all of the recipes here, but they have some for tailoring, leatherworking, and blacksmithing.  They also have the very in-demand recipes for epic bullets and arrows.  The bullet recipe is available to goblin engineers, and the arrow recipe is for gnomish engineers.

5 Responses to “ICC Rep Runs – Get In There!”


  1. December 31, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I hate rep runs. Not that I wouldn’t like to have the rep, but farming 20 mobs all over again is just boring. If I’d want to be bored, I’d stare at the ceiling or something, not play a game.

    And my friend always asks me if I want to go and farm rep *after* I save myself in our guild raids. That’s the other part of the reason. ;)

  2. 2 Thimble
    January 7, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Somehow rep runs just seem…wrong? I don’t know, I mean, obviously you’re not breaking any rules by doing it, but the idea of just “resetting” the guys you just killed to kill them again, and a faction appreciating that so much that they give you lavish rewards just seems out of sync.

    Plus, they’re boring.

    Still, you’re right, it’s totally worthwhile.

  3. January 10, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    To be honest I couldn’t think of anything more boring than doing rep runs.

    I’ve got the Ashen Band of Unmatched Vengeance without participating in any of these and it will only be a matter of time before I get Exalted and can get my hands on the Ashen Band of Endless Vengeance.

    I suppose for those who are desperate to gear-up or those who don’t have the players to get a raid into ICC then this would be one way of getting their hands on a nice ring until they can get a competant group together.

  4. January 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Oddly, I don’t find rep runs boring.

    Grinding Sons of Hodir rep = boring.
    Working on old world quests for Loremaster = boring
    Farming mats for enchants = boring

    In an raid or instance, I can challenge myself by working on my dps, trying new attack strategies, or playing in different specs. Basically, I watch the damage meters. There is not much chance of us dying to trash, so I don’t have to focus so much on the mobs.

    That said, I can only run three or four clears of the trash before Marrowgar before I need to take a break.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,203,560 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

