04
Nov
09

Tanking again, for the good of the guild

Our guild is currently in that no-man’s-land of numbers.  We have too many raiders to do 10-mans without people feeling left out.  We don’t have enough for 25-mans or even two 10-man teams.  The raid leaders are unhappy when they have to choose who gets to raid and who doesn’t.  The players are unhappy when they are uncertain from week to week if they will get to raid.

To address this, we’ve decided to make two raid teams anyway.  To make this work, a few people will have to do double-duty and raid with both teams on different toons.  That means we need several players in the guild who have multiple well-geared characters.

With that in mind, I quickly finished leveling my paladin to 80.  I leveled as a shockadin, which was a lot of fun.  It played like a mage with plate armor and infinite mana.  Shame it can’t break 2k dps, so I can’t raid in that spec.  I still have that as my off-spec for soloing and doing dailies.

Once at 80, I switched to a prot spec.  I grabbed some tanking plate off of the AH.  Finished leveling my engineering and made the Armored Titanium Goggles.

With 493 defense (not even close to def capped), 24k health, no enchants, blue and green quest gear, and one epic helm, I started tanking heroics.

It was… easy.  I quickly got the hang of the 969 rotation from the maintankadin site.  The tankadin rotation plus a rogue with TotT generates such a massive amount of threat that I held aggro even with ToC 10-geared dps in my runs.  Ardent Defender was there to keep me alive when I took a crit or two.

It helps that our guild has awesome healers.

I have now tanked heroics up to 5-man ToC heroic.  I’ve gained enough emblems to buy the T8.5 chest and grabbed a couple more epics along the way.  I’m still not def capped, but as soon as that happens I’ll be jumping into Naxx and Ulduar to get some real tanking under my belt.

Tanking was fun – more fun that I remember when I used this character to tank Karazhan.  Back in BC tanking was stressful for me.  It felt like generating threat was difficult and a slight error would be costly.  Now it seems smoother, easier.  I feel like I have room for error, and the threat generation is through the roof.

I have no intention of giving up my rogue.  However, once my paladin is geared up I will have three characters at Naxx25 level gear or better – a tank (paladin), a priest (healer), and a rogue (dps).  That versatility will really help us put together our guild raids until we have enough members to get back to 25-man raiding.

 

4 Responses to “Tanking again, for the good of the guild”


  1. November 4, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Noooooooooo! I HATE pallas! What were you thinking!?

    Ok, ok… Fair enough… I see your point and it is a good idea to be able to support your guild by having the 3 different roles available.

    The only thing that made me happy, following the announcement WoTF is being gimped, was pallas are getting a fair bit of the ol’ nerf bat… In the face.

    Good luck with the raiding Dinear (and you better NOT forget about your Rogue!) :-)

  2. 2 Thimble
    November 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    We’re at the same point, numbers-wise. The idea of two definite teams with some people doubling up seems like it could really work, if only we had any kind of reliable schedules. I’ll bandy the idea around, though, because it’s worthwhile.

  3. 3 nordveien
    November 5, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Thanks for this post, it is really appealing how your guild decided to address that “too many for 10 man, too few for 25 man, not enough roles for 2 10 mans” problem (which is, unfortunately, not at all uncommon these days).
    Nice to see how smoothly the whole process might go when guildies show some patience and understanding.
    Hope you continue enjoying tanking and it all works out well for you and your guild.

  4. 4 Saniel
    November 5, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Tanking in BC was a lot more stressful and there was a significantly smaller margin of error. However, I wouldn’t trade the experience I got doing it for anything.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,214,917 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

