22
Sep
09

Rogues rock

When I started raiding, back in the Karazhan days, I was the only rogue in my guild that was level 70. Others had leveled rogues for a while, but not to max level. At that time, I was competitive for top dps, but couldn’t quite keep up with our hunters.

We made an alliance with another guild to raid Gruul and Magtheridon, and there were a total of three rogues in our 25-man raids. The three of us routinely finished at or near the top of the meters with an occasional mage, warlock, or hunter mixed in. Eventually one left for a more progressed guild and the other stopped playing, and we went into WotLK as a one-rogue raid again.

All through WotLK and into Naxxramas and Ulduar I was the only max level rogue in the guild for any length of time. I sat at the top of the damage meters from start to finish, and have continued there.

A funny thing happened along the way… our shadow priest rolled a rogue alt, got it to max level and made it his main. Then our DK got a rogue to max level and switched it to his main as well. And one of our mages switched to a rogue as his raiding toon, also. As they leveled, they all told me how much fun the rogue was to play, both in PvP and PvE. Now in my guild there are between two and four rogues in every raid. Also, there are an assortment of rogue alts at various stages of leveling. I don’t expect them all to make it to max level or to raid. But they are having plenty of fun.

Even Blizzard thinks its a great playstyle. Remember, in the Rogue Q&A when they said, “Overall, we really like the way the combo point and finishing move system works. If anything, the risk is that we could push too many other classes towards this system, which makes it less unique for the rogue.” That, plus the fact that rogues get very few changes in each patch, tells me that the class is playing well.

I’m not about to say that rogues are for everyone. But if you haven’t tried it, you should.

10 Responses to “Rogues rock”


  1. 1 Mobius
    September 22, 2009 at 10:35 am

    What is your rotation?

  2. 3 Dave
    September 22, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Delete this post! Don’t let our secret out!

  3. 4 Thimble
    September 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Seriously. Don’t tell everyone. It’s so nice being the only rogue in a 25 man VoA. Nothing more heartbreaking than having something actually drop and then losing the roll.

  4. 5 noob4life
    September 22, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    My problem seems to be that since I’ve only played a Rogue since I started, I don’t find many of the other classes fun and have trouble leveling alts. I’m working on a Druid now and at least cat form comes with combo points and stealth. It’s about the closest I’m going to get.

  5. September 22, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    @Mobius

    When I raid I play a mutilate spec. The rotation for that is

    Mutilate to get combo points and start up SnD
    Mutilate to a few combo points and Envenom to refresh SnD
    Mutilate to 4-5 combo points and Rupture.
    Get HfB going.
    Continue Mutilates to 4-5 combo points, then Rupture if it’s fallen off or Envenom otherwise. Your SnD should never fall off if you are getting regular Envenoms.

    As an assassination roué I use IP/DP. Wound Poison is more appropriate for combat rogues based on talents.

  6. 7 Mobius
    September 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Ill be respecing tonight. Thanks for the input. /bow

  7. September 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    @noob4life

    I was the same if I tried to level a melée class. I was able to levels alts that werenot melée-based. I got a priest to 80 and I mademy paladin Holy Shock spec so it plays like a caster also.

  8. 9 Stonedrake
    September 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I started with a hunter and hated it, and he never got past about level 5. I also rolled a rogue and she became my main and I loved her. When a friend asked me to come to her server I rolled another rogue and I played him to 80 and loved it. I never successfully played any alts (and I tried everything else) until I rolled my Druid. She’s only level 37 right now, but she’s enough like a rogue that I can enjoy playing her. The main difference I see is that a Feral Cat is a smooth DPS curve, while rogues are sawtoothed. Either one is a fun ride. :D

    My rotation is a bit different. I try to open from stealth with Garrote, then immediately Hunger for Blood. Next its a single mutilate for combo points, then Slice followed by a four point Envenom refresher into a four or five point Rupture. From there its just a matter of ensuring Slice never drops, HfB never drops, and Rupture is tagged back on whenever it does drop.

    Assuming I can’t open from stealth, then It’s a Mutilate to a two point Rupture and go into the previous rotation from the first Hunger For Blood.

  9. September 22, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    I don’t open with Garrote because I run with a druid tank. He puts a bleed on the boss in the first few seconds, so I can actually get HfB up before my Rupture, and without applying any of my own bleeds. I prefer druid tanks for this reason.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,012 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

