10
Sep
09

Ahhhh…

Its a nice feeling to finish a big project.  Its like finishing an epic quest chain.

I haven’t touched the blog in about three weeks.  School started, and I was swamped with that (to any high school students who are reading this – you should know that your teachers work much harder than you do for the first few weeks of school).  On top of that, my school administration dropped a huge project in my lap on a very short deadline.  Today the project reached its completion, and I’m getting into a groove in my teaching.  I may be able to get back to a normal schedule.

For the past three weeks I haven’t had the time or energy to blog, but I’ve played some WoW as a way of taking my mind off my work.  Most of my time has been spent leveling my paladin (now level 75).  I’m playing him as a shockadin spec, basically because no one else does.

That’s always been the way I chose my alts.  I like to find the path that few others are doing.  I played my priest as shadow back when no one was shadow spec, then I switched him to Discipline when that was considered good only for PvP.  I leveled my paladin as prot spec from 1-70 when prot pallies did squat for damage and ran out of mana every fight.  Now I’m playing him specced for holy shock, and its quite fun.  I never run out of mana, and holy shock hits like a bomb on mobs around my level.  I ran AN with a PuG and was able to hold my own on the damage meter.  When I get him near 80 I’ll switch to prot because our guild needs more tanks.

On my main, I finally got my two T8.5 pieces with Emblems of Conquest.  Either piece by itself was a side-grade for me, but both together with the two-piece bonus was an upgrade.  Plus I got the Acidmaw Boots from 10-man ToC.  So, three upgrades in a week – sweet.  After I got them enchanted and gemmed, we went into VoA to fight the new boss, and my dps was almost 2k ahead of the next best dps class!  Holy cow!

I have a few goals upcoming:

  • Kill Yogg-Saron (10-man).  We’ve seen the fight a couple of times.  Time to figure it out and finish it off.
  • Get past the darn PvP fight in normal ToC 10-man.  I hate that fight with the heat of a thousand suns.
  • Get back to doing the Argent Crusade dailies.  I’ve got all of the titles, but I’d like the pony for my squire.
  • Get some more T8 gear.  The only pieces I have are the two I bought with Emblems.  I have never gotten a T8 drop from 10-man Ulduar.
  • Lrn2heal.  I’m still struggling with my Discipline priest.  I think I may be forced to switch to Holy.  I have a lot of problems healing 5-man instances when the whole group takes damage, and its frustrating.

Anyway, I’m back!

3 Responses to “Ahhhh…”


  1. September 10, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I find that it’s harder for me to successfully heal a Heroic group (especially when people stand in the fire) as Disc than it is for me to heal Ulduar10. Holy is a lot easier, but I feel like it’s less of a challenge and not as fun.

    The major difference between healing Holy and healing Disc is the shielding. If you spend the entire run (depending on your gear level, of course) swapping between periods of boredom and periods of intense action – you’re doing it right. :)

    Not that you are interested in my advice, but here goes anyway: (I love my Priest and I’m passionate about Disc – lol)

    Heavily, heavily rely on your shields – make sure your interface shows the Weakened Soul debuff. Keep PoM up on your tank or melee DPS, Glyph for Penance. Use Penance only for a big damage spike and Flash Heal more often than Greater Heal. Shield the DPS and install Recount Absorbs or Skada to see how much of the damage YOU are mitigating so you get some kind of positive reinforcement when it feels like you’re getting down about Disc. If you have Inner Focus, I find that is best to use with Prayer of Healing.

    I hope that helps a little. Sorry to hijack your post. :]

  2. September 10, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Its all good. I’ve had people giving me advice on Disc healing for months. Some times it all clicks and I feel like I’ve got the hang of it. Other times (like the ToC 5-man) it drives me nuts. Any advice is appreciated.

  3. September 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I’ve only seen the pvp fight in ToC once and think it will be my new hatred. PvP fight in PvE content is &^&%$! stupid.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,224 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

