18
Aug
09

I Hate It When Things Don’t Work

My guild is currently working on Yogg-Saron.  As we were initially learning the fight, we wanted to interrupt as many of the Dark Volleys as we could.  The cooldown on my Kick was really limiting my interrupts.  I read somewhere that speccing into the Throwing Specialization talent really helped in this phase.  So for our attempts last night I put two points there.

For whatever reason it did not work at all.  I’d see a cast bar start, I would hit my Fan of Knives, and… the cast would still go off.  Again and again FoK failed to interrupt the spells.  It was terribly frustrating.

Has anyone else run into this?  Is it buggy or is it just something I am doing wrong?

6 Responses to “I Hate It When Things Don’t Work”


  1. August 18, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I don’t know how it’s supposed to work now, but in 3.2.2 they are removing Fan of Knives from Throwing Specialization. So the interrupt will be gone then. They *may* have hotfixed it already, but I am not sure.

    In any case, it’s a technique that will not work in the future, so it might be best to learn the fight without FoK interrupts.

  2. 2 Recked
    August 19, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I’m not sure about the whole FoK interrupt thing. As far as I know this nerf is coming up in 3.2.2 (due to OP in PvP).

    With the Dark Volleys I tend to find the mobs cast these near the beginning of their fight and in my experience only tend to let one off; sometimes two but not often (unless you’re doing hardmode in which case I wouldn’t know to be honest).

    I move to the mob as soon as the tank has pulled it hit ToTT, get SnD up and HfB (if bleed on) and throw in the odd envenom. Throughout this fight sequence I make sure I pool enough energy for a /kick. As soon as I’ve done the kick I switch to the next mob the tank has pulled and repeat.

    Of course kick has a 10 second cooldown so if your raid is trying to burn down 4-5 mobs at once then I can appreciate you will never get these interrupts off on all of them. When we downed Yogg (25-man) we never had more than 2 of these mobs at once, more often one mob at a time with some overlap (where I switch as soon as new mob comes in ready for an early /kick in the nuts if required).

    I am not too concerned with getting a bleed on since this phase is more about positioning and timing with dps not really being an issue. Of course, I tend to concentrate on interrupts to minimise incoming damage and reduce any unnecessary strain for the healers – Wow! What a kind rogue I am :-p

    Obviously it’s hard to make every interrupt on your own but I find the above technique works and often top the interrupt meter. You should have other players in your raid setup who can also interrupt to assist you.

    I’m sure you already do this but I’m going to throw it out there anyhow for any readers but something I do which is useful is let my raid know I’ve interrupted with a basic macro. This lets other interruptors know I cannot interrupt again for 10 seconds and they better get on the case :)

    /#showtooltip kick
    /cast Kick
    /s Interrupted!

    ^ If nothing else it stops people shouting at me when I miss an interrupt too as they can see I’m doing my job :)

  3. 3 Kali
    August 19, 2009 at 7:24 am

    There is a known delay with fok and interrupts (up to 2 second delay). It really is not the best way to silence mobs…..kick is really the only reliable way for rogues.

  4. August 19, 2009 at 8:52 am

    If I remember correctly you’re mostly running 10-mans, right?

    We had a bit of a tough time in the first phase there as well, but I don’t think the interrupt on FoK is needed there at all. We had a warrior (me or the other tank) grabbing the Guardians, so we could interrupt it as well when needed, and a rogue dpsing them down and kicking when needed.

    On our kill, we didn’t have more than one Guardian at any time. We just let the tank and melees run around in the center, being very quick on the taunts/misdirects if they spawn outside. If anyone touches even a single cloud (at least later than in the first 30-60 seconds, when they spawn slowly and you can burn one extra fast), wipe and repeat. One Guardian is easily interruptable without FoK.

    And yeah FoK has this weird delay on the interrupt, I found out when I was trying to get Less-rabi in Gundrak.

  5. August 19, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    I realize that the FoK interrupt wasn’t absolutely needed. But if the ability worked as the tooltip states, then it certainly would have been helpful – especially at the end of phase 1 when there are several guardians up.

    The point still stands FoK doesn’t work as explained, and so I was misled into speccing into it for no point. I won’t use it again.

    P.S. @ Saithir – I still don’t have that Less-rabi achievement!

  6. August 20, 2009 at 7:21 am

    I haven’t tried FoK with specialization in a while, maybe it has already been hotfixed as others have suggested.
    It should be really unnecessary though, if the fight is going well there should only be 2 guardians out, one being pulled towards the group to be brought down and one being led back to the center to explode (even though in 10 man I find it easier to move the group through the room instead of waiting at the door, so there will probably only be one guardian in that case).
    The only time I used the FoK interrupt was getting the “They’re coming out of the walls” achievement and it seemed to work fine back then.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,317 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

