07
Aug
09

Best. Item. Ever.

Sometimes its the simple things in life that are the most rewarding.

My favorite piece of gear in the game is not my Guise of the Midgard Serpent or Treacherous Shoulderpads.  Its not my Rune-Etched Nightblade or recently-acquired Golem-Shard Sticker.

ChefHatIts is the Chef’s Hat.  Hands down.

I got it just for kicks a while ago, because I was doing the cooking dailies anyway so it seemed like a worthwhile, if cutesy, reward for that.

But Patch 3.2 changed all that.  It is now a blue item, with the bonus feature that it makes you cook faster.

How much faster?

Holy cow!

To test it, I grabbed a stack of uncooked Worm Meat out of the guild bank to make some some Spiced Worm Burger.  Just for comparison, I made one without the Chef’s Hat on.  It takes about 2 seconds to make one Burger.

Then I put the hat on and tried again.

BAM!  Burger done!  Fractions of a second.

So, with another 18 burgers to be made, I clicked on “Create All.”

BAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAMBAM the burgers appeared my bag at machine gun speed.  It was so amazing to watch that I grabbed another stack of uncooked meat and cooked it just to watch it go.

OK, so its a simple thing and probably shouldn’t entertain me as much as it does.  But it is what it is – a frill thrown into the game that is now my favorite item.

6 Responses to “Best. Item. Ever.”


  1. August 7, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Hmm…I think my achievement getter has about 78 tokens right now … I guess I’d better keep at it, that sounds like fun!

    Oh, hey, this is a rogue blog, eh? My rogue dinged 10 last night and needs to spend his talent point. ^^ *wanders off to look around*

  2. 2 Yeoldegit
    August 7, 2009 at 11:24 am

    For full effect, grab the Bloody Apron, Butcher’s Slicer and Butcher’s Cleaver all from the second boss in Shadowfang Keep. :)

  3. 4 Hamacus
    August 7, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I’ll take fries with that please.

  4. 5 slink
    August 11, 2009 at 2:48 am

    I always wondered whether the hat had any functional use!

    It sounds like a good excuse to get my remaining 9 tokens, although there are so many other things to do at the moment that it’s difficult to find the time (raids + daily h/c + farming runs + gathering time).

  5. August 12, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I can’t wait to get this item, too! 12 more awards and it’s all mine…MINE!! *rubs hands together and cackles maniacally*


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,204,721 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

