06
Aug
09

First Day after Patch 3.2

So what was the first thing that got me going when I got into the game Tuesday evening?

First – Epic gems.  I had a bunch of Emblems of Heroism and Valor accumulated, so my first act was to buy a bunch of Cardinal Rubies.  I immediately threw a few on the Auction House and they sold quickly for 450 g each.  The rest I mailed to our guild jewelcrafter so he can cut me some +40 AP gems.

Next I went to check out the new Argent Tournament stuff.  I have the Crusader title, so I can do the full assortment of dailies there.  I did the new line of quests – quick and easy – and got a handful of Champion’s Seals for my efforts.

I took a break to do the orphan questline and get an Oracle pet.  Lots of flying around, just like any Children’s Week quests.

After that I went into the new 5-man instance on Normal mode.  I was expecting a Magister’s Terrace-like experience… not in the design, but in the difficulty.  If you remember back to BC, Magister’s Terrace was added and even on normal mode it was a challenge for level 70 players.  Our first attempts there were full of wipes.  Alas, the Trial of the Champion was not such a challenge.  We went through normal mode uneventfully.  The jousting combat at the beginning was the only part that gave us any pause.

I have no reason to go back in on normal now, except that all the loot is epic (iLvL 200), so its a place to farm Abyss Crystals.

That ended my Tuesday evening in WoW 3.2.  Then early Wednesday I logged on and got into a group doing chain-heroics to get Emblems of Conquest.  I have not been lucky enough to get any tier drops from Ulduar, so I’m looking to save up for the T8 chestpiece first, followed by the Gloves of the Blind Stalker since I haven’t had a glove upgrade is a long, long time.  After several heroics, we diverted to do a speed clear of 10-man Naxx.  I picked up a total of 36 Emblems of Conquest for the day.

I’m not sure exactly what has changed, but I did not easily top the dps meters the way I am used to.  I usually ended up #1, but not by much.  My dps felt lower than usual.  It could be that I have been switching back and forth between specs and so I’m now sloppy in my rotations.  It could be that other classes got buffs in the patch.  Whatever the reason, I needed to really push to stay ahead on damage on boss fights.  I’ll have to go through some combat log parses and check for any obvious causes.

Items on the agenda for the upcoming weekend: buy the T8 chest with my Emblems and get it gemmed, try the new instance on heroic, do more dailies, try the new VoA boss, and get a peek at the new raid.

2 Responses to “First Day after Patch 3.2”


  1. August 6, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    This sounds very similar to what I did on patch day. I have not done the Normal 5-man, only heroic, and you will find that it is slightly more challenging than other heroics but not much more so. Also, the new ToC boss is incredibly easy once you figure out the mechanic for the second “phase”. We one shot it on 25 man normal. I was hoping for a bit more of a challenge. Hope you continue enjoying the patch!

  2. August 10, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Don’t hurry VoA, the new boss won’t be in until the new arena season starts (though his room is already there), since he will drop parts of the new season’s PvP set.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,187,171 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

