10
Jun
09

Rogues are getting Creepy

creepy

Above is my current armor.  The Guise of the Midgard Serpent (which has the same model as the T8 helm) has a creepy zombie-like face on the top.  The Treacherous Shoulderpads (which have the same model as the T8 shoulders) have their own creepy-glowy faces on either side.  Also, if you notice the translucent orange tendils running from the shoulders across the chest – those shoot out of the shoulders periodically and wave around a bit.  When seen in motion, its somewhat startling.

Rogue armor looks a lot like what I’d think a witch doctor would wear.  I don’t imagine that a sneaky rogue would be displaying mummified faces on his armor.  That said, I get lots of comments about the armor during raids.  People ask me to face away from them.  Others don’t stand next to me because the waving tendrils are distracting.

However, I now have the “Show Helm” option activated for the first time in at least ten levels.

Two questions come to mind from this…

#1 – Do you like the creepy faces?

#2 – Someone who looks at me might assume that I am wearing two pieces of T8 armor.  In fact, I have no T8 armor at all.  Should two sets of armor from the same instance use the same models?

15 Responses to “Rogues are getting Creepy”


  1. 1 Hamacus
    June 10, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Love it! Think it looks too cool! As far As using the same model I have no problems with it as it has been done before.

    I had a set of T-6 level shoulders that were the same model and almost identical stats as actual T-6. They only changed the color, which in my opinion made them look better.

    Think its also a nice way to show you are raiding at a particular level but may not have been lucky enough to get that tier drop. /shakes fist at RNG!

  2. June 10, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I like the t8 design. I think creepiness suits rogues. ;> Ofcourse it’s not realistic, it’s very stylized like almost everything in Warcraft. And in this stylization it suits a dark assasin to have this kind of armor. Still I think t2 had the best looking armor for rogues and almost any class for that matter.

    But I seriously don’t like the fact that half of armor in Ulduar shares models with t8 gear. Kinda lazy of Blizzard.

  3. June 10, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I remember seeing this stuff in beta and instantly disliked the helm. The shoulders are a bit weird but interesting at the same time. I’d have to see more of the animation before I make a firm opinion on them.

  4. June 10, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I’m so jealous of you now.

    And yes, T8 rogues look awesome IMO.

  5. 5 Dorgol
    June 10, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    T8 is the first rogue set I’ve found interesting. It’s unsettling, which is very fitting of the “assassin” class (in my opinion).

    Feel bad for Gnome Rogues (as usual) – they just look stupid (as usual).

  6. June 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Yeah, our rogue friends sure got the short end of the stick, there.

    Though I must say Bloodfang and Slayer looked pretty cool too in my opinion.

  7. June 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I’m not a big fan of the tier gear sharing the same model as other gear. Tier gear should be more than just stats – the distinctive look makes it more desirable.

    I do think I look cool, though :)

  8. 8 wrathshield
    June 10, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    i just want some cool armor like that T6 T8 T1.5 idk…………level 78 and tick tocking!!!!!

  9. June 10, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    The colors on the Tier items are different – 10-man tiers are more blue than purple, 25-man tiers are red (best looking imho) and 25-man offsets are dark green.

    But the whole look of the T8… I like the shoulders most, but I’m kinda happy that I can hide the helmet ^^; If you like it though, more power to you :)

    I think what Dorgol wrote is right – this armor set surely looks unsettling and it’s fitting really.

  10. June 10, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    I am busting to have this drop for me in Ulduar. It is the creepiest, most delicious helm model around. Previous favourites have been the T5 (Deathmantle) helm from Vashj and the Grimgrin Faceguard from ZA, which wasn’t that creepy but was certainly a distinctive model. I wore that until my T7 Hannibal Lecter mask dropped not long ago.

  11. 11 Hamacus
    June 11, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Think this fits:

    Sinister–adjective 1. threatening or portending evil, harm, or trouble; ominous . Can’t wait to get mine as well.

  12. June 11, 2009 at 9:51 am

    love the shoulders, hate the helm. i prefer looking like a ninja than a ghoul.

  13. 13 Saniel
    June 11, 2009 at 10:11 am

    I’m with you, Din. I don’t mind different drops from the same raid instance sharing models, but I do think the Tier gear should at least be unique in appearance for a little while. I wouldn’t mind T7 models showing back up as non-tier drops in T9 content, for instance.

    Also, as long as people are talking about it, Priest T6 is my favorite in the game so far. I also liked Druid T4 (on Nelfs).

  14. 14 Hamacus
    June 11, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I used to feel that way San but as someone who raided extensivly but NEVER had a Tier head piece from T4, T5, or T6 head piece on my main I have learned to hate the RNG and will take all bones thrown my way.

    That combined with historic and continued very poor tier gear itemization for Shadow Priest (my main ATM) makes the tier sets nothing more than a fashion statement. A vey cool looking fashion statement. Agree on Priest T6, best ever!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,114 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

