03
Jun
09

Fun in Ulduar

ulduarI haven’t written much about Ulduar because I have not spent a lot of time in there.  I felt like I needed to see the fights multiple times before I could make an informed opinion.

Ulduar is beautiful.  I think that it is at the appropriate level of difficulty for the majority of raiding guilds.  I have heard some complain that it is still not hard enough – not up to the challenge of SSC and TK back in Outland.  Well, I guess that there are parts that are easy, true.  But Ulduar has been open for more than six weeks now and not many guilds have gotten Yogg-Saron down, so its not that easy.

On the 10-man version, I’ve been in on kills of Flame Leviathan, Razorscale, Ignis, Deconstructor, Kologarm, Iron Council, Auriaya, Freya, and Hodir.  On the 25-man we’ve just done Flame Leviathan, Razorscale, and Deconstructor.

From a rogue point of view, the only fight where I haven’t been able to top the damage meters is Iron Council.  Casters can stand in the little blue buff circle, while I have to follow the boss around and hope that the tank doesn’t drag him too far from the circle.

A couple of fights are really good for rogues… on Deconstructor and Hodir we get to use Feint and Cloak of Shadows regularly to good effect.  On Auriaya we have to be ready with Kick to interrupt her cast.  The Freya fight gives us little trash packs we can hit with Fan of Knives.  So far, this has been a good instance for our class.

Looking ahead, I have heard that Mimiron is tough on melee.  We’ll see how that goes.  I hope to get to him in the coming weeks.  Right now my guild is having a hard time balancing 10- and 25-man raiding.  As a casual guild we have a lot of people who don’t want to raid four or five nights a week.  Our regularly scheduled raid nights are dedicated to 25-man raids, so its a trick to find time to put together good 10-man runs.

I think after this week’s runs I’ll write some short Ulduar boss guides for rogues, much like my old Rogue in Naxx posts.  I know that others have done similar writeups, but I find that making a guide helps me reflect on the strategies for my own play.

5 Responses to “Fun in Ulduar”


  1. 1 kroios
    June 3, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Though my old main is a rogue, I have had the opportunity to indulge myself with the features of drood (which offers subset of rogue’ish ability but with the versatility of direbear option).

    I have had referred to both bosskillers.com and your guide to Nax and frankly. I personally prefer your in-depth summaries of the naxxramas encounters as your write ups focuses on the important things that are vital to the melee dps and are so much easier to digest as compared to bosskillers.com =)

    Keep up the great work!

    Kroios (Proios)

  2. June 3, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Adding my +1 for Dinaer guides!

  3. 3 Cat
    June 3, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Looking forward to the Ulduar Guides. I’ve been relying on Chase Christian’s (fairly generic) articles and wowwiki up till now, but I have your full naxx guide printed out and refer to it every time I go in.

    So far I’ve only done Flame Leviathan, Deconstructor, Ignis, Razorscale and a few unsuccessful attempts on Kologarn. My guild is much further along, but having been lv80 only for about 8 weeks, I’m still in the “B Team” mainly as I’m still rocking some blues. Sad panda.

    Ulduar does seem to me to be suitably balanced. Even when I’ve been in with the A Team, who are massively geared, it’s possible to wipe on any fight if someone does something dumb. Conversely, even the B Team can down bosses in blues if people are on their game. It’s skill over gear, as it should be.

  4. June 3, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    OK, its a deal. I’ll start on the guides.

    It will give me something to do next week. I’m going out of town for 10 days, and while I will have internet access I won’t be able to play WoW. So that’s a good opportunity to write up some guides.

  5. June 4, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I love wow! I quit playing after I hit 80 for so long because it took to long to get all my gear and my mount, but my friend showed me his gold making guide and now im obsessed again, the guide made it fun for me. Check it out here. http://tinyurl.com/wowgoldvip


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,786 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

