21
May
09

Gasp! I tried PvP.

My guildies begged and wheedled and got me to agree to be on their 5v5 Arena team.

I am a carebear through and through.  I last did regular PvP at level 29 in WSG.  Since then, my PvP has been limited to an occasional duel, running a few BG to get a couple of achievements, and twice in WG to try and get control of it for a VoA run.  That’s all.

So now I need to try not to embarrass myself in PvP.

First – I felt like I needed a PvP trinket.  I still had the Insignia of the Alliance that I got when I reached Corporal back in the old days of PvP.  So I used what little honor I had to buy the Medallion of the Alliance, adding a little resilience and a shorter CD.

Next, rummaging through my bank I found a couple of PvP armor pieces that have dropped off of Archavon and Emalon.  I gemmed them up and equipped them.  More stamina than my regular raiding gear, mostly.

Next – I put Blind on my action bar.  It hasn’t been there in a long, long time.  I’ll also need to remember to use it.

I started running a few BG to get the hang of it.  Surprisingly, raiding is pretty good preparation for BG PvP.  Through raiding, I have learned what my abilities do and I use them instinctively.  I am quick on Vanish and CoS as panic buttons, which works for me in mass PvP situations.  If anyone focuses on me I can usually take some kind of useful action.  Once I started remembering to use my trinket to get out of CC, I was pretty effective in Strand of the Ancients.  I still stink at WSG, though.

Then we did some arena…

[What follows is really embarrassing coming from someone who has played WoW as long as I have.  Remember the title of this blog.  No matter how much you think you know - you are always a noob in some areas.  I am a PvP Noob.]

I was lost.  It wasn’t even the combat, which was frantic and over in a flash.  First I had to overcome my UI, which is set up for raiding.

For example, I have it set to show health bars above enemies.  That’s fine in raiding, when there are rarely more than 4-6 enemies on the screen.  When we went into our first arena, and I had a mass of health bars for the 5 players, their pets, and all their totems, I couldn’t see anything.  All I saw were red health bars.  As I tried to find a target, I basically did nothing useful and died.

Then in the next Arena fight, I turned off the health bars.  That was no better.  Now amid the mass of enemies I couldn’t find the person I had targeted.  So I ran around trying to get in range of a target I couldn’t even see, and died.

I decided that the health bars were better.  Next battle… I actually did something useful and we won.  I stayed alive, and got some stuns on the opponent’s healer, and did useful damage.  Not as much as the ranged dps, but still useful.

Another battle.  Our team leader told us to stay back on defense.  So we all hung back – then the other team’s ranged dps was able to burn me down in no time before I was even close enough to get an attack off.

Overall, we did 11 matches and won 3.  I wasn’t frustrated, just overwhelmed.  The matches were over so fast that I barely had time to make any decisions.  All the talk of strategy and maneuvers that I have read about weren’t really useful, because it happened so quickly.

Here are things that I’m going to think about if I am going to continue this…

  • Back in the day, I used to use Crippling Poison to keep from being kited.  In Arena, though, it seems like the areas are too small to effectively kite.  If that is the case, I’ll be better off using Wound Poison, and perhaps hitting FoK to get it on a whole bunch of the enemies.
  • Right now both of my weapons are enchanted with Berserking.  That’s great for raiding, when I’m not usually getting hit.  In PvP, though, if both of my weapons proc then my armor is reduced by 10%.  Is that worth the gain in AP from the proc?  Or should I have a separate set of PvP weapons with Mongoose?
  • I think that a run speed enchant on my feet (like Tuskarr’s Vitality or Cat’s Swiftness) is probably more useful than the AP enchant I have.  Since I don’t want to switch enchants all the time, I need another set of boots, at least.

Also, I need a change in mindset.  Right now I am trying to do as much fast damage as I can.  Having tried this a few times, it seems like it is easier for ranged dps to put out the big damage, because they don’t have to do any work to stay on their target.  When the enemy moving, I have to work hard to stay in range, and my damage is reduced.  I think that I will be more useful if I focus on stuns, kicks, and blinds.

Or I may just give up on the whole endeavor and got back to being a carebear.  Time well tell.

11 Responses to “Gasp! I tried PvP.”


  1. 1 Toxicwaste
    May 21, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    But did you enjoy it?

  2. 2 wrathshield
    May 21, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Heh, that sounded oh too familiar to me – although i haven’t done arenas, a lot of the PVP stuff in BGs is chaotic and I am ineffective except helping to blind, ks, stun and I forget to vanish/cos a lot. I do still have fun and when I can catch that lone clothie and ravage him/her – <3

  3. May 21, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    When I tried Arena (at 70, so this was a while ago), I found that matches went really fast too. Either the other team was much better than us, in which case we died quickly, or we were much better than them, and we killed them quickly. However, when we started getting matched up against teams at our skill level, the matches started slowing down and becoming actual fights.

  4. May 21, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    5v5 is pretty crazy – I’ve done a *lot* of 2s and 3s and I still have trouble figuring out what’s going on in a full-on 5s melee. It’s fairly zerg.

    Nevertheless, I have one big piece of advice: play 41/5/25 prep mutilate. That will obviate your first question (Deadly Brew means you can run wound on both hands and get the benefit of Crip too) and your third question (Fleet Footed is much better than the boot enchant and does not stack). As to your question about berserking – it’s definitely the best arena enchant, the armor loss is totally negligible. If you do have a spare weapon though, I would strongly recommend using a Titanium Weapon Chain on one hand (offhand by preference) for the disarm duration reduction.

    The primary job of a rogue in a 5v5 comp is control. You want to use a combination of stuns, snares, and incapacitates to make sure your chosen DPS target stays in one place and always has a healing debuff on him when you’re going for the kill. You can also capably lock down a healer or caster if your team-mates need help to stay alive. But you’re certainly right that the ranged DPS is going to be doing the bulk of the damage.

  5. May 21, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    In case it isn’t obvious, this is the spec I’m talking about:

    http://www.wowhead.com/?talent#fhxcoeMoiroGzZ0xZebfbh0db:iTkVz

  6. May 21, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    @Toxicwaste – I’m ambivalent right now. I thought it was interesting, but my teammates seemed disappointed in our win total. So I am withholding judgment for now.

    @Chronic
    Great advice. I knew you’d have constructive things to say on this topic.

    I realized right away that a full Assassination spec wasn’t useful, and that I wouldn’t have HfB up most of the time. Now its a question of dedication. Will I do Arena enough to make it worth buying dual spec? I’ll keep you updated.

  7. 7 azande
    May 22, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Just to add one more thing to Chronic’s great advice…. put Dismantle on your action bars and use it :).

  8. May 25, 2009 at 1:30 am

    I’d say you should get a mut/prep specc even for BGs. Deadly Brew, Fleetfooted, Preparation, Increased stealth detection and stealthed movement speed make a huge difference.
    Slightly OT:
    Personally, I also have Blind key bound in my PvE specc, its another way to interrupt trash casts or give someone who drew aggro some breathing room.

  9. 9 Rochmoninoff
    May 28, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Chronic said the stuff I originally went to your comments section to post so I won’t repeat it.

    In addition to specceing your talents you need to ‘respec you thinking’ as well.
    PVE is about getting behind the boss, keeping SnD up and grinding away, keeping one eye open for standing in the fire.

    PVP – esp arenas is a totally different ball game. Don’t stand still. Rogue attacks are all instant so there’s no penalty for moving. It confuses you opponent.
    Think of the fight as a dive bomber attack – move in Mutilate -> Eviscerate move out.
    Use vanish offensively – Overkill is huge (till the 3.1.3 nerf).
    (By offensively I mean, use vanish to go for the kill, not to escape).

    Other tips-
    Control moves are more important than maximizing steady state damage moves:
    Blind (which you added to you tool bar)
    Cheap shot (you get 3 per fight)
    Dismantle = safety from rogues, warriors & hunters and big damage reduction to DKs
    Kidney shot
    Gouge

    DoTs like rupture, garotte, deadly poison are not nearly as usefull as the burst you get with a 5-point eviscerate. Too easy to heal through. Too little control (on your part) of when the damage gets applied.

  10. June 9, 2009 at 7:06 am

    @ Roch: one small point on your last, Garrote (with the 3 second silence effect) seems to be the best opener against Mages as they can blink right out of CS, also against some hunters and DKs which are unstunnable. Garrote is also a good opener against any plate wearers as the dps is unmitigated.

    @Dinaer: mate I’m going through the same thing, getting dual specs and starting PvP again just the past couple of days. Must say I’m surprised that I’m enjoying it so much!

    I’m having a lot of trouble with frost mages though…

  11. June 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I can’t tell you who I am having trouble against. I don’t have the instinct yet to identify what class I am attacking. Basically, I am letitng my partners mark a target and attacking it. I can’t recognize classes by their gear at this point. So when I die I usually don’t know who or why.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,158 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

