30
Apr
09

Shout Out to Norfin

You meet a lot of people in this game.

Correction – you don’t really “meet” many of them.  You interact with them through purely indirect means.  Typically its through typed chat, which is about as impersonal as you can get.  Other times its through Vent discussions, which is a little more personal.  However, the people in the game are mostly just voices and avatars, hidden behind pseudonyms.  Usually you don’t know much about the person behind the toon, other than a few superficial details.  Sometimes people use this anonymity to be jerks.  Most of them are casually friendly, but in a reserved, small-talk kind of way.

However, every now and then you run into someone in game who is so nice that it puts the rest of us almost to shame.

Norfin is an officer in my guild.  He was the de-facto leader of the guild that we merged with back in our BC days.  He’s always been a nice guy in chat, a good person to talk to in Vent, and a great helper in running the guild.

He is an inscriptionist and herbalist.  Last week he was busy farming herbs in Sholazar Basin.  He had spent hours there accumulating many, many stacks of herbs.  In chat he said that he was working on making a Nobles Deck for his significant other (who plays a feral druid).  That’s nice.  Its the kind of thing that you do for your partner.  I’d do something like that for Aellkynne (my wife) if she wanted me to.

I lamented in chat that I was going to have to fork out big gold to buy my Nobles deck because I don’t have a character with inscription.  I’d been saving up my gold, since the deck typically goes for 7-9k on my server, and I had nearly enough.

Norfin whispered me that I should hold off on buying the whole deck.  He said that he was almost done making the current deck, and he was bound to get some extra Nobles cards in the random card-making process, and he would give them to me.

That’s pretty generous.  Each Nobles card goes for between 300-1000 gold, so he was giving up a fair chunk of potential profit.  I thanked him and told him I would wait to see what he got.

The next day, he sent me two Nobles cards.  I was very appreciative, since my card investment had just decreased by about 15-20%.  I considered this a very nice act.  However, that’s the sort of thing that good guildmates do in this game.  Over my time played, I have given away thousands of gold worth of leatherworking products, donated thousands of gold worth of farmed mats, and “loaned” thousands of gold to needy guildmates.  After all, they are only pixels.

The next day when I logged on, there was Norfin in Sholazar Basin again.  When I asked what he was doing, he said that he was farming more herbs to make me more Nobles cards!

In WoW, the only real currency is time. Gold, epic loot, ore and herbs are there for the taking in unlimited supply.  All it requires is the time spent.  When Norfin gave me the first cards, those were byproducts of previous efforts – just unintended outcomes of the RNG.  While they were nice, they did not represent any extra effort on his part, only his generous nature.  Now that he was farming on my behalf, that is a whole different level of generosity.  Now he’s spending precious hours of game time purely to benefit someone else (me). Not a few minutes (like helping with a quest) or an hour (like running an alt through Deadmines) but hours and hours.

Over the course of several days he farmed literally thousands of herbs (he announced his totals in chat), made dozens of cards, and gave me more than half of the Nobles deck. Looking past the gold, he dedicated his own personal play time toward the goal of benefiting someone who he only knows through an in-game avatar.

That’s about the nicest thing anyone has done for me in-game.  He wants no repayment, no epic pixels or virtual gold for his efforts.  So I’m using my forum here to give Norfin some recognition.  Thanks, man.

9 Responses to “Shout Out to Norfin”


  1. 1 Malgato
    April 30, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I hope BBB reads this post. This is the sort of act that makes putting up with the general ass-hatery worth it. I fine reminder that there are really good people out there.

  2. 2 Dangerla
    April 30, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Awesome. I think it’s people like this that make the game what it is, and why it has lasted for so long.

    Great post. ;)

  3. 3 David
    April 30, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I understand the point of this post was ‘look what a nice guy he is’ and I am all for that…

    However…

    Only a really, really, REALLY dumb person actually makes darkmoon cards. Look at the math behind it first off. Only nobles cards have any value at all, the other 3 are literally worthless. So on average you’re looking at 32 combines to get 8 nobles and if you can hypothetically use dupe nobles to get the ones you’re missing that’s the realistic average.

    I’ve seen full nobles decks put together sold in trade for 5.5k regularly post 3.1 so over 32 card creations that means you have to be able to create the combine for under 172g in order for it to make sense to create the cards instead of just buy the deck. Hell the snowfall inks alone sell for more than that! I sell snowfall inks all the time.

    Don’t fall into the trap of thinking mats are ‘free’ if you farm them…they’re not. If you can farm 50g of mats per hour but can generate 60g cash per hour doing dailies then do the dailies and buy the mats. Google opportunity cost.

  4. 4 Saniel
    April 30, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    @David

    See, that’s right inline with the kind of asshattery mentioned above. You could have easily made your point just by saying “I don’t understand why someone would make their own DM cards,” or “It would make more sense to sell the inks made from farming and buy the cards…” Hauling off and calling someone “really, really, REALLY dumb,” was completely unnecessary.

    If your game is maximizing gold gained over time spent, then yeah, the approach you mention is probably better. But that’s not everyone’s game. Some people just want to log in, be social, and spend a weekend doing something more mentally relaxing than their average work week. Some people even enjoy the grind. Some people are more about doing something for the guild as a whole than their own personal gain.

    Din didn’t mention the stacks and stacks of Frost Lotus Norfin has accumulated in the process and sent to our alchemists to use for making flasks for the raiding corps. So many that they’ve, in turn, had to go out and gather Eternal Lifes just to be able to use all said Frost Lotus.

    He didn’t mention the Undeath deck that Norfin is making for himself at the same time to help improve the raid’s mana regen via Hunting Party, even though there are other trinkets that would increase his personal DPS more.

    And lets not forget that if no one was as “dumb” as you’d suggest, there’d be no cards to buy with your hard earned money. Then see how much the few that did exist cost and how many more dailies you’d have to do to buy them. Google supply and demand.

    @Din

    Preemptive apologies for dropping drama in your blog. I couldn’t let this one go, though.

  5. April 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    @David – I have been tracking Nobles decks through Auctioneer for weeks. On my server, they have only come down under 7k in the past week. Previously they were still 9-10k. Economies vary.

    @Saniel – Drama aside, the vital point that you make there is that someone has to make the cards, or no one gets any cards. Its easy to say that you have to be dumb to make them. That’s pretty short-sighted.

    I love my professions. I have maxed out every one, including secondaries. I have never crunched the math to see if each one has earned me more than I spent. I did it because its a part of the game that I like.

  6. May 1, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    /target Norfin
    /salute

  7. 7 Bootsmann
    May 6, 2009 at 4:39 am

    Gevlon http://greedygoblin.blogspot.com/ would not approve.

  8. May 23, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I know someone a lot like that. Someone in my guild ended up getting me WotLK a couple months back when I was stuck at 70 for ages since I wasn’t able to go out and get WotLK. He happened to have a spare key for it, so he let me use it. I was ultra glad since I was pretty much stuck just farming SSO rep and only able to do level 70 stuff everyday. Btw, nice blog. I can relate to a lot of things on here.

  9. 9 Overcast
    June 15, 2009 at 11:48 am

    @Saniel & David

    Perhaps it would have been cheaper that way – in terms of WoW gold, but building guild loyalty, friendship, and such in the end, will net far, far more than the extra gold would have – considering WoW gold doesn’t really earn interest, but good relations within a guild; in a way – do earn considerable interest.

    So it went a lot further than just gold on the auction house.

    And Saniel is right – the ‘investment’ in WoW is time. So perhaps when you consider time vs. wow gold vs. friendships; the equation can change dramatically with the last variable :)

    Good blog, BTW


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,917 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

