28
Apr
09

Noblegarden… /yawn

poleThis is me.

Note that I am staring at a post.

There is an egg that spwns at the top of that post.

I’m waiting for it to spawn.

Yep.  Just… waiting.  I did that for over an hour and a half today.  Just… waited.  For eggs.  To spawn.

When Blizzard revamped Noblegarden, I think they envisioned people running carefree and willy-nilly all around the starting zones, gathering up eggs with gleeful smiles.  Count on the WoW community to suck the fun out of everything.  People just camp the spawn points, which forces me to camp a spawn point too if I want any shot at eggs.

(I found a much better spot than this in another town where I am standing among three egg spawn points)

Complain all you want about the drop rate on the Love Fool quests.  At least it was a little exciting.  When I was short a couple of candies of the meta-achievement, I really felt the pressure.  As the time left in the world event ticked down, I made sure to go for a bag of candies at every opportunity.  Each time I opened a bag of candies I got a rush of anticipation (usually followed by a slap of disappointment).  Still, it wasn’t dull.

So thanks for the effort, Blizzard.  Unfortunately, this holiday has turned out to be dull.  To cater to those who whined about the drop rate of the candies, Blizz made everything purchasable with chocolates.  If you have patience to stand and stare at a pole for hours and hours, you too can get the Noblegarden title.  You don’t even have to move.

12 Responses to “Noblegarden… /yawn”


  1. 1 Saniel
    April 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

    There’s a spot in Azure Watch where you can be in reach of two spawn points without moving and see 5 more from where you’re standing. I got 220 eggs in about 2 hours. Without ninja-ing.

    But as to the heart of the post…yeah. Not as much fun/exciting as Hallow’s End and Love is in the Air. They have this style of holiday right. The concept here was good (finding hidden eggs) but the execution didn’t work out quite right.

  2. April 28, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Hm, maybe we were fortunate enough to do it just the midnight when the event started, but our little achievement-hungry guild group just didn’t encounter any campers. Sure, there were quite a lot of people running around picking eggs, but most of the time they were so focused on being faster than the guy in front of them, that they skipped a lot of them. So it was much more entertaining for me.

    I’m not surprised you find the event dull if you have to camp eggs. Not at all.

  3. 3 Klo
    April 28, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    The campers seemed to be in force in Goldshire and Kharanos, but not as much in Dolanaar. The run around the inn looking for eggs is much better than sitting and waiting.

  4. 4 Reigan
    April 28, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I got the achievement on my main the night it was released…it was awesome running around with everyone else bein the first to the eggs. That next day it was a nightmare with everyone campin’ a single egg spawn point. I went into egg hunt mode and, ninja’d when I could. I feel that if you’re gonna camp a spot, you already have an advantage, if I successfully swipe it, oh well, pay more attention next time. ;)

    Hopefully next year they enforce running around by making it impossible to loot the same egg multiple times, or by randomizing where the eggs will spawn (preferred). I don’t know what they were thinking by keeping the spawn points static…it didn’t take a rocket scientist to see that would lead to lots of “living” statues posted up in the cities.

    @ a camper, how many eggs do you get in a 10 min period anyway?

  5. April 28, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    I rather enjoyed running (or hopping, more often than not) laps around Falconwing Square. I’m sure some of the campers got annoyed when I looted their eggs, but seriously.. if you’re standing right there staring at the spawn point and you can’t right click the egg in the time it takes me to hop over to it and do the same… better luck next time. ;)

  6. 6 holdwine
    April 28, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Camping is only worth it if everyone else is camping a spawn. Otherwise the drop rate isn’t so great. Better to run around, if few people are camping.

    Monday morning was a good time to hunt eggs, and I suspect just about any weekday morning would be just as good. No need to camp, maybe three or four people running around hunting them. I was doing my egg hunting Horde-side, and the best places I found were in Razor hill. You can see the eggs better against the red dirt, and there are two places where you have a shot at three eggs at once. One is the tent where the bowyer stands–one spawns in a crate, one under a brazier, and one behind some sacks to the right of the bowyer. The other place is the wagon behind the cooking trainer. One spawns between some boxes at the head of the wagon, and the other two spawn on the inside rim of the front and rear “passenger side” wheels (well, passenger-side for American autos).

  7. 7 dorgol
    April 28, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I think Blizzard is laughing right now.

    “You guys thought Love Fool was too random? Well, we can make it worse!”

    Me, I enjoyed the 90 minutes or so I spent egg hunting yesterday morning. I grabbed 80 something eggs, got the pet, flowers, and tux in random drops. Visited all of the starter towns. Laid an egg in Stormwind. Got 8 out of 10 Bunny Shakers (just need Tauren and Dwarf…). All I have left is to do a bit of traveling and eat another 70-ish chocolates.

    And I do find it fun to run around as a sprinting bunny.

    Maybe it won’t be as fun after another 90 minutes, but who can say?

    Oh, and WHY do people go to Goldshire or Kharanos? EVERYONE goes there. It’s like they forget the Draenei even crashed here… :)

  8. 8 Dangerla
    April 28, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Yeah I finished this achievement in a day….
    I was also severely disappointed in Blizz just handing out the Love Fool titles to people. I was one of those who was a few candies short, and was sooo frustrated that I couldn’t get the achievement, but I was willing to wait until next year when it rolled out to try again.
    One day I logged in and BAM … I was a Love Fool. I felt like it completely cheapened the achievement for those that actually really got it.

    Also…anyone catch the playboy bunny reference? Put bunny ears on females of each race over…18?
    Bleh.

  9. April 28, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Actually, I bought the Dress on my mage with candies- and it didn’t give me the achievement. So, either they’re hotfixing it so purchased items will count (which makes me feel silly- I got the whole achievement in less than a day) or this was a missed bug. I wound up with over a hundred extra chocolates, just waiting for the blasted dress to drop.

    Along the way, I picked up an extra 7 branches, as well, for making people rabbits. That should be fun, I suppose- but I also had 2 extra rabbits, and 2 extra tux shirts, drop as I was grabbing stuff. And of course you can’t sell them back, for example the dress I bought (I thought you could do that, for items purchased with alternate currency, for up to an hour- has that not been implemented or aren’t they counting this stuff?), nor can you vendor any of the drops for a minuscule return on the investment.

  10. April 28, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    @Wyatt – the achievement specifically says you have to get the dress via a drop. You don’t get the achievement for purchasing the dress, but it doesn’t matter too much because you don’t need that particular achievement for the meta.

  11. April 28, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    After my initial bad experience in Goldshire, I moved to Dolanaar and it wasn’t nearly so bad.

    Camping one spot in Goldshire, I got an egg spawn on average every 1:20. So in an hour I got about 45 eggs. In Dolanaar I was able to get eggs from multiple spawn points so it went faster.

  12. 12 Plastic Rat
    April 28, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    “Count on the WoW community to suck the fun out of everything. ”

    This. Why I avoid most holiday events and especially this one.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,204 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

