14
Apr
09

Back for More

I had my Spring Break last week, and I used it to get away from all of my responsibilities – including blogging – for some relaxation.  Now I’m back to the work grind, and prepping for what may be Patch Day.

Some things to catch up on that I have overlooked for the past week or so…

  • The common expectation is that Combat is going to overtake Mutilate as the raid spec of choice.  I hope not.  Back in the BC days I was forced to switch to Combat because it was a very sizeable dps increase over Mut.  It was such a large difference that I couldn’t ignore it, even though the Mut playstyle is so much more fun.  If the two specs turn out to be comparable after the upcoming patch, I’ll stick with Mutilate.  Any slight differences in theoretical dps are overshadowed by skill and technique, anyway.
  • In fact, I have positioned myself so I am really stuck with mutilate.  I have routinely passed on every sword and fist weapon that has dropped in Naxx.  Our guild saw Calamity’s Grasp drop last week and I let it go to a hunter.  I didn’t want to see it languish in my bank, and I have no intention of playing anything other than daggers.  The only epic weapons I own are daggers.
  • My guild has cleared 25-man Naxx, but didn’t manage to get Heroic Malygos down.  We learned the fight fairly quickly in our first all-guild night in EoE, and if we had another week to make attempts we’d have a real shot.  If the patch drops this week, then we’ll likely pass in favor of Ulduar.
  • I’ve had a lot of fun playing my Disc Priest lately.  I have no trouble at all healing regular instances.  We did speed runs through reg HoL and I had no mana issues and we had no deaths.  But put me into a heroic instance and everything goes downhill.  Maybe I’m doing it wrong, but with 1300 spellpower it just seems like I can’t heal fast enough to keep up with the damage on boss fights in heroics.  I want to do more regular level 80 instances to get better pre-heroic gear, but no one wants to run anything but heroics…
  • Leveling tailoring is a chore.  I thought that would be a nice way to gear up my priest at level 80.  But making spellweave, ebonweave, and moonshroud on a 4-day cooldown is tedious.  I had a much easier time getting leatherworking maxed.
  • I didn’t believe it would work, but its true.  You really can make gold by buying Eternal Fires, splitting them into crystallized fires, and reselling them.

______________________________________________________

Samueltempus over at Slice and Dice tagged me with the Honest Scrap meme about a week ago, and I’m finally getting around to addressing it.  He says nice things about me, so its only polite that I respond to it.  Here’s the meme:

  1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
  2. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.
  3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

10 Honest Things About Me

  1. I am a physics teacher in real life.  I teach at a very good public school with bright students.  The students make my job easy, much like having good guild members makes being a guildmaster easy.
  2. I never wanted to be a guild master.  When our guild’s original GM and his co-GM bolted for a progression guild, the rest of us had a meeting on vent where we decided to continue on without them.  I was about to suggest someone as the new GM, but he beat me to the punch and nominated me first.  I was voted in, and took the job reluctantly in the interest of keeping the guild together.  That was almost two years ago.
  3. I am an electronics junkie.  I have an iPod Touch that I use every 5 minutes or so for whatever reason I can think of.  At my desk at work I have an electric pencil sharpener, electric stapler, and even an electric three-hole punch.  If there is an automated way to make something easier, I am there.
  4. Despite what I said above, I actually do not own a cell phone or blackberry.  When I am out, I like to be alone with my thoughts.  Cell phones interrupt that.  I also see so many people that rudely answer their phone at any time no matter the circumstances, and I don’t want to be one of those people.
  5. The one thing I like more than WoW is baseball, and the New York Yankees in particular.  I have followed the Yankees since 1977, and have stuck with them through good times and bad.
  6. I once watched hours worth of Australian Rules Football and Curling on television to see if I could figure out the rules without having them explained to me.  I managed to figure those sports out, but I have never understood Cricket.
  7. When my daughter was very young, I used to sing her the Sun Song by They Might Be Giants.  It was my hope that she would amaze her kindergarden teacher by describing the sun as a mass of incandescent gas or a gigantic nuclear furnace.  She had the song memorized by the time she was four.  The plan didn’t work, though.  She was too shy to speak up when her class talked about the Sun.
  8. I have a very large book collection of mostly sci fi and fantasy books.  When I moved to Florida, the collection that I brought with me was larger than that of the local library’s scifi/fantasy section.  (they have since acquired a larger selection)
  9. My favorite television show is Big Bang Theory.  Since I majored in physics, I knew a lot of those type of people in college.  In almost every episode there are little side jokes that you would only get if you know physics.  On Tuesdays, my co-workers sometimes come find me and ask me to explain the jokes that they didn’t catch.  The spherical cow joke is a classic.
  10. My wife and I have been together since high school.  Fortunately for me, she shares my interests – D&D back then, followed by other RPGs like TORG, and now WoW.  If she didn’t agree to play WoW with me, I probably wouldn’t still be involved in it.

Since I waited so long to respond to this meme, I think it is past its prime and I’m not going to tag anyone else.  I guess I am violating the rules, and so the meme gods might frown upon me.  Like any good rogue, I will avoid confrontation and /vanish.

3 Responses to “Back for More”


  1. 1 Warstory
    April 20, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Spherical Cow? I’ll bite…tell us the joke.

  2. April 21, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    They don’t actually say the joke in the episode of Big Bang Theory, but they make reference to it. It essentially goes like this…

    “Milk production at a dairy farm was low so the farmer wrote to the local university, asking help from academia. A multidisciplinary team of professors was assembled, headed by a theoretical physicist, and two weeks of intensive on-site investigation took place. The scholars then returned to the university, notebooks crammed with data, where the task of writing the report was left to the team leader. Shortly thereafter the farmer received the write-up, and opened it to read on the first line: “Consider a spherical cow. . . .”

    The joke is poking fun at the fact that reality often too complex to model mathematically, so physicists often oversimplify it in order to make it mathematically solvable. Thus, a spherical cow.

  3. 3 Warstory
    April 22, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Heh, ok.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,204,108 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

