09
Mar
09

Just One of Those Nights

We had “just one of those nights” this weekend.

We were in Naxx 25 with Spider Wing cleared and we decide to do Military next.

For whatever reason, we were off our game.  The dps was relatively low compared to past weeks, the priests had some trouble with the MC, tanks were accidentally taunting the wrong mobs – no one was really at their best.  We wiped a half dozen times on content we have already cleared.

We did finally get by Razuvious, and went on to Gothik, along with cheers of “Yay, free epics!” for the upcoming easier fight.

And then we proceeded to wipe on Gothik multiple times for a multitude of reasons, mostly related to our dps being low and falling behind on the waves of adds.  Eventually, we called the raid for the night.

This is not a post complaining or calling out my guild’s raiders.  Far from it.  This post is about how we as a guild bounce back from adversity, and how that reflects the strong core that we have.

One of the ways I have always evaluated who was a good “fit” for our guild was the way they handled wipes.  After a bad night, players who are very progression-minded will immediately start looking for another guild that wipes less in raids.  Self-centered players will start complaining about their repair bills.  Rabble-rousers and wannabe-generals will start pointing fingers (at everyone but themselves).  These kind of players have a short life span in my casual guild.  We don’t usually kick them out.  But they always find that they are the last to be asked into runs and raids, and eventually they realize that they aren’t fitting in.

Sure, we wiped a whole bunch on stuff that should have been easier.  But each time we got up, rezzed, wiped off the dust and charged back in.  The next night, we re-formed the raid with no complaints and went back in, cleared Plague and Military Wings, killed Gothik for good measure, and felt a lot better about it.

How does your guild react to setbacks and off-nights?  Arguments?  Blame game?  Discontent?  Gquits?

6 Responses to “Just One of Those Nights”


  1. March 9, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I only whine about wiping if we do it on farm content, such as Naxx-25 (we run with alts only on Naxx-10s) – and that’s pretty rare. Funny though, we had a bad Gothik night as well some time ago, but fortunately we made it through after three tries. :) Repairs don’t really count for me, I just keep quiet, since seriously, 120g (my max repairs after a night of Sarth+2 tries) isn’t a lot.

    I try not to point fingers at anyone unless they’ve done something incredibly stupid that made us wipe.

    Finishing Heigan’s dance without anyone dying, now that’s a completely different subject… ;)

  2. March 10, 2009 at 8:28 am

    we usually take breaks once we start wiping multiple times. also, there’s always a few of us who try to keep the morale up so that people don’t start leaving for one reason or another.

  3. 3 Reigan
    March 10, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    My guild generally fights through it…until we get sloppy and start making negative progress, then the raid leader usually calls it. We used to have whining and finger-pointing in TBC, but it looks like we’ve kinda grown beyond that. We just throw it up as a bad night and try again later. We raid late, so sleep is usually the main issue. :)

    With my clothies, I’m a bit of a pugger, so I often times end up with not so optimum group make-ups and been on many a failed runs. In this setting, I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt that they generally know what they’re doing, but just don’t have the gear\skill yet. I’ll like to stay with a Deathmarch and wsp suggestions to the leader\stuggling member between failed attempts. Ultimately succeeding in these runs feel like a bigger accompishment to me than in the guild raids\instancing. Mostly because in a raid you will generally have a balanced team-up. In PUGs its always completely random.

    I’m a glutton for punishment though…raids/runs with no struggle is incredibly boring for me. Some of the best times I’ve had in the game were during those 6 hour Shattered Halls runs which ended at Murmur or caster guy right before because we were completely exausted, the instance respawned again, and no one wanted to reclear trash for the 3rd time. Good times…XD

    By the way, struggle doesn’t necessarily mean tons of wiping to me…tenseness due to the threat of goin OOM, getting a well-timed heal, or competing with a friend for top DPS…

  4. March 12, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    We generally clear about 2-3 wings a night, but when we wipe constantly (such as on Thaddius), we call it a night and the next day we go at it we generally have no issues.
    Sometimes people just have off days, and it affects everyone in the raid. It’s no biggy, the reset time on raids is a whole week ;)

    We don’t really have any complainers in our guild though – we’re really casual too – because they just don’t fit with us. We take everything in stride.

  5. 5 Warstory
    March 23, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Funny that I just found this article. I wish I would have read it last week before I went apeshit on my guild leader(called him unloyal and a PoS).

    Against my advice… Guild leader thought it was a good idea to go off and join a second guild to see if we could recruit more for Naxx-25. So as hot headed as I am I /gquit. Good news is that I told my GM that I was sorry for calling him a traitor. And well, I am back in the guild…just not 2nd in charge anymore and GM is no longer in another guild.

    Some may say I was right, some say I should have kept quiet. But no one said “TY”. -LOL

  6. March 23, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    As a guild leader myself, I can imagine that a lot of my guildies would be really ticked off if I went to another guild, not matter what my motives were. So I can understand your reaction. At least they took you back.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,379 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

