17
Feb
09

Almost a Happy Ending

71459Like so many others, I ended up one candy short of the Fool for Love meta-achievement. Also like many others, I logged on once an hour over the whole weekend and late into the night Sunday hoping for a bag of candies with the one I was missing.

Monday morning, dejected, I went to my bank to throw away all the leftover items from the holiday event – dozens of Love Fools and Friendship Bracelets, several Lovely Black Dresses, and numerous arrows. I decided to reorganize my bags in the process.

Then – a discovery! I found a bag of candies from 2008, sitting there untouched for a year. It had three charges left… and I only needed one candy.

First pull… No luck. Second candy… Nope. Third and last try…

If it were a movie, there would be a feel-good ending here ending with my screenshot of the achievement. Alas, the scriptwriters at Blizzard didn’t help me out. No title for me in 2009. No shot at the violet proto-drake until at least February 2010.

4 Responses to “Almost a Happy Ending”


  1. 1 arb
    February 17, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I can’t believe how many people got unlucky with candies this year. My main and 4 of my bank/trade toons gained the achievement, each obtaining 2-3 bags of candies during the event. I guess I was fortunate, as only my main got the Perma-Peddle achievement and she’s the one I’m collecting pets with.

    Sorry to hear about your misfortune, anyway. If it’s any consolation, I didn’t bother with Brewfest in 2008, so my own Violet Proto-Drake will have to wait until September 2010 thanks to the Brew of the Month achievement…

  2. 2 arb
    February 17, 2009 at 10:50 am

    On reflection, it won’t be any consolation as you’re in exactly the same boat as me :/

  3. 3 Rochmoninoff
    February 18, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I got the meta-achievment but just barely.
    I was grinding for love fools (got lots of baskets, dresses and candies).
    The RNG of the candies meant going through many candy bags to finish.
    But I got lots of candy bags so it turned out not to be a problem.

    However if it wasn’t for a friend dropping her love fool so I could pity it, I wouldn’t wouldn’t have gotten that one.

    And the one that actually took a while to put together was getting a Rose.

    The big problem I saw with this event wasn’t the RNG nature but the duration.
    It’s just to short to smooth out anything grindy or RNG-ey.

    The end took me completely by surprise. I got the meta at the last possible moement and didn’t even realize it.

  4. 4 Inzilbêth
    February 26, 2009 at 5:28 am

    There is a silver lining — from seeing comments on the PTR forums it looks as if they’re reducing the requirement to 6/8 candies (or is it 8/10 I can’t remember, but anyway, so long as you’re missing no more than 2) so you should get the achievement when you log in to 3.1 assuming they don’t change their minds again.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,203,723 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

