13
Feb
09

Tribute to my Wife

This post goes out to Aellkynne – a wonderful wife, mother… and healer.

aellkynne3When we started playing WoW back in early 2006, there was no question that she would roll a healer. She is a nurturer at heart, which is why she is so good with our three children. She chose a druid, in part because it is a healing class, but also because of the appeal of the various animal forms.

We leveled together from 1-60, and reached the level cap just before the release of Burning Crusade. Until then we were both extremely casual players. Once we entered Outland she became more serious about the game. She was the leading healer for the guild when we first went into Karazhan at level 70.

She doesn’t theorycraft or min/max or use cookie cutter specs and rotations. She doesn’t usually top the healing meters. Yet people always seem to stay alive when she is the healer for a run. She knows her class extremely well through experience and perseverance rather than by doing what others tell her to do.

She encouraged me when our guild reorganized and I became GM, and has been a steadying influence through inevitable bouts with guild drama. I never wanted to promote her to a guild Officer position because I didn’t want any appearance of favoritism. It was only when the rest of the guild leadership demanded it that I finally promoted her. She earns the respect and trust of everyone who she interacts with.

I bounce all of my guild decisions off her first. I know that she will give me an opinion based on a caring approachaellkynne2 rather than from the “raiding first” mentality that sometimes creeps into my mind. Every guild leader should have someone like that – a confidante who thinks about the people behind the avatars.

She is able to balance taking care of our kids and doing regular household chores with herb farming for alchemy mats for the guild’s use.

OK, so I have paid for every mount she has ever owned, and most of the training as well. But is that such a steep price to pay for such a WoW Goddess?

Aellkynne, I love you for being who you are. You’ve kept Lifeblooms rolling on my heart for all these years. May our love never be nerfed. Happy Valentine’s Day.

7 Responses to “Tribute to my Wife”


  1. February 13, 2009 at 10:19 am

    That is beautiful – you made me cry.

    Can you send my husband a bit of romance to pass on to me. Oh I know he loves me, but I’d like him to tell me every so often too :)

  2. 2 Aellkynne
    February 13, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Thank you, Dinaer. You know I love you too, but you are good at what you do without my encouragement. I will say that this is the greatest Valentine you’ve given me….

    Oh, and I’ve spent the afternoon getting love collections for you in game…LOL.

    (I cried too – I’m such a sap…)

  3. 3 Fourlies
    February 14, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Hi,

    I’m a relative newbie rogue on Rivendare (only been playing for less than six months). I just want to thank you how much your blog has influenced me in a positive way. I totally agree with your point of view about the importance of friendship and camaraderie within the guild as opposed to just progressing as fast as possible.

    This post is brilliant. Congratulations to you and your family. WoW and life needs people like you and Aellkynne, just to remind us how beautiful love is.

    Thank you.

  4. February 16, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks Fourlies. Its nice to hear feedback from people who are enjoying what I write.

    Keep having fun!

  5. 5 Misericorde
    February 19, 2009 at 6:42 am

    The first thing when I thought of this was when my ex fiancee’ and I used to play WoW together. Now everytime I log on my account, I see a level 28 priest sitting there waiting to be played again. Maybe some day again. =/

  6. 6 Hamacus
    February 27, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Awwwwwwwww! You da man Din! I…will..not…cry! I feel you on the mount issue but my wife Aurelyn plays a warrior and all she wants to do is cut me. : )

    Props to my favorite tree as well.

  7. February 28, 2009 at 2:25 am

    lol… I hear her say that a lot. I guess that’s the way she shows affection.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 92 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 91 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 92 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,219,651 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

