26
Dec
08

DPS Test

Our raid leader asked me to do a DPS test on a Heroic Practice Dummy. We’re getting ready for our first guild Naxx run and he’s checking everyone out.

Keep in mind that I just hit 80, I have not run a single heroic instance or gotten a single insignia. So my loot is all crafted items and quest rewards. I have not enchanted my gear yet except my weapons (Mongoose) and the Leatherworking enhancements to legs and wrists.

With no raid buffs at all and no consumables, I was able to maintain about 1450 dps over five minutes on the dummy. I am disgusted with my pathetic hit rating, but the agility, crit, and attack power on the gear I have makes it so that my damage is up despite my misses.

I told the raid leader my results, but I had no way to project how that would increase with raid buffs.

Later, we gathered up a group of four of us – me, a Death Knight, Enh Shaman, and Prot/Ret Pally – for a group DPS test. That gave me Windfury Totem, Bloodlust, Greater Blessing of Might, Heart of the Crusader, and Horn of Winter. I ate a Snapper Extreme for good measure and +40 hit rating. I didn’t take any potions or flasks.

I was able to maintain 2000 dps over 5 minutes, even though I had not yet gotten my new dagger enchanted, so I expect I could have been even a bit higher. That was just a hair behind the Shaman and Death Knight, but they have both been running heroics so they have better gear. Its clear that I should be able to out-damage them once I get some upgrades and enchants (on stationary tank-and-spenk bosses, in any case).

That made me feel a little better about the state of rogue dps. I know we’re not the top anymore, but I need to make sure that I earn my raid spot.

9 Responses to “DPS Test”


  1. 1 Knife
    December 26, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    I’m actually curious if anyone else has found this true as well. It seems, despite changes being relatively small, that blizzard boosted raid buffs ridiculously beyond what they were in BC.

    I remember my first kara run in blues and pvp weapons. I think I was doing 500ish dps but with raid buffs it was roughly 600. That’s, at most, a 20% increase due to buffs.

    What you’re talking about is a difference in roughly 550dps due only to normal raid buffs. That’s a 35-40% increase! I’d expect gear and buffs to scale, but that’s nearly doubling the order of magnitude. I’d love to know if other classes are scaling this way with raid buffs. In a way I would expect them to…in another way I can’t imagine it being possible for a mage to get +35% dps.

    No wonder you see top-rogues doing 4200+dps. It’s not (just) because they’re skilled…they’re actually doing 3000dps in endgame gear…it’s just been buffed so ridiculously much they almost can’t help it.

  2. December 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    @ Knife – Or, they’re exploiting the HAT bug. I have yet to see a report of legitimate Rogue DPS that high.

  3. 3 misericorde
    December 29, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Its easy mode to use the HAT bug. I can do about 2.8k. which is decent.

  4. 4 Knife
    December 30, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I doubt it. Go to http://purplz4mywarrior.blogspot.com/ about midway down the page. I know recount isn’t the end-all when it comes to dps reports, but even saying it’s off by 1000dps (a longshot by any regard), still shows a rogue doing 7000+dps. THAT, I would imagine, is the exploitation of the HAT bug. Spam evisc ftw i guess…

    I meant you can see legitimate rogues doing legitimate rogue dps of 4000ish. One of the top rogues on my server, rocking dual webbed deaths (mut) and 60% t7.25 gear does 3700+ on single target bosses.

    The ability of rogues to do xxxxdps isn’t what i was going for with my response anyway. I was more asking if anyone else has seen the buff-scaling increase that I have. A +15% buff-based increase is an enormous jump.

  5. December 30, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    You’re absolutely right. I went to the EJ DPS spreadsheet for confirmation. I put in my gear as it is now with no raid buffs or consumables and got the projected DPS. Then I added in the buffs I expect to have in my 10-man Naxx run this week, plus my flask and +hit food. It increased my projected DPS by 43.1% !!!!!

    As an aside, I have led in damage in every 5-man heroic I have run this past week, against other similarly-geared dps classes. All is not lost.

  6. December 30, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Knife linked to my DPS report when we did Naxx last week.

    We put 3 rogues(Sometimes 4) and a hunter all in on group. Theyre beasting thru the meters. Last week I was in that hunter group so it really did up my damage.

    A fix will be applied to HAT spec and the hunter party buff(it will only be a hunter only buff) So our rogues are enjoying it as much as they can =).

    Tomorrow I will be posting another DPS test report.

  7. December 30, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I’m not planning to spec to HaT to exploit a bug. That’s not fun. Despite the fact that its Blizzard’s fault the bug is there, it still feels like cheating.

  8. December 31, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I don’t know the Patchwerk fight, but check out Skeleton Jack’s blogpost about him doing over 5K dps as a deathknight:

    http://www.skeletonjack.com/2008/12/30/naxx25-win-who-wants-to-see-5k-dps-someone-say-dual-wield/

    Now look above him and see the rogues in his guild doing about 6K and topping the charts. Take what you will from that, but it seems like rogues in an advanced state of gear are doing just fine for themselves.

  9. 9 Knife
    December 31, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    @Delos – impressive, but check out Herc’s blog.

    I’m never sure how much stock to put in spreadsheets (EJ), but as it is a rogue with TOP gear (T7.25+) as mutilate can “only” do 4700dps according to the EJ spreadsheet in an absolute vacuum with everything being perfect. Realisticly this means the best rogues evAr are doing 4500dps…more or less.

    Therefore, the only way to go over that, seeing as mutilate or combat fist/dagger are the highest damage builds, is by “cheating.” I use the term sparingly as Blizzard DID put the HAT bug in themselves, but it honestly can’t be true. If all you have to do is constantly press 1 button, unmacroed, and top the damage meters I don’t care what you say- that’s broken. It’s wrong.

    It’s wrong because, while they certainly make things easy, they don’t make things LESS complicated. Ever. Combat Swords used to be all about SS->SD->Rup->evis/env-> repeat. Remember how arms/fury was the bastard step-child of warriors before Blizz decided they wanted warriors to actually have a choice in what to do? It was 3 buttons = win. The result in both circumstances was- make it more complicated. Add more buttons/abilities. Add new trinkets. Add a reason to make people think of doing Evis or Env. Is it the right time to pop Killing Spree? Kick? FoK? Feel like rogue-tanking? Ok, pop BF+KS+Evasion. I’m not saying it’s rocket science- it’s still easy- it’s just a bit more complex.

    That’s why HAT is a bug. Because it has to be. No one in Blizz’s Dev department could possibly think it’s fun to run in, get behind a boss, and hit Evis 1000times.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,052 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

