22
Oct
08

Achievements – making us do stuff we normally wouldn’t

First I want to say that I don’t feel driven to get all of the achievements. Someone will read the title of this post and say, “well just don’t do them” and that person would be correct. In most cases I am not doing them. But there are a few that intrigue me because they are related to things I do anyway, like fishing and questing and raiding.

Last night my wife and I set out to run around and do some of the exploration achievements. We spent three hours in Kalimdor.

The good:

  • I got to see some areas of Azeroth I may never have seen otherwise, because it is a horde area or because I just skipped it while leveling. Orgrimmar, Durotar, parts of Stonetalon Mountains, etc…
  • It was a break from leveling my alt, which is what I would have been doing otherwise.
  • It was a nostalgia trip, as we ran through Azuremyst Isle saying, “I remember this place” and “These were fun quests.”

I had a fun sneaking into Orgrimmar to catch a fish there. I was lucky… I got there just as someone without stealth was trying to do the same thing. So that person got naked, mounted up, and ran through the entrance, dragging all of the guards with him. With the guards gone, I just stealthed right in, no problems. Made my way to the Valley of Spirits. Came out of stealth behind a pole, caught a fish, then stealthed out. Got spotted by a guard on the bridge and jumped into the river.

The bad:

  • Running on a ground mount is a chore when you are used to an epic flyer.
  • Its frustrating when you have one spot in a zone left undiscovered and you can’t find it. (Tel’athian’s Camp on Bloodmyst Isle took us forever to find)
  • Some of the old world content is just… bad.

When I say that some old world content is bad, I cite as evidence Wailing Caverns.

We looked at the achievement and it said we had to kill one boss. So we ran in there figuring we could knock that out in a few minutes. I had completely forgotten that you had to kill four other bosses before he would spawn.

That instance is a nightmare. Worst instance ever, in my opinion. It took a group of three level 70 toons an hour to finish it. Why? Because its impossible to navigate. The tunnels curve above and below each other. You can’t find anything. You get lost, and find yourself running past the same mobs over and over. Even a map add-on doesn’t help because of the criss-crossing of the tunnels.

I wanted to give up and hearth out after forty minutes. But by that time I was firmly in the grip of “I’ve invested this much time, it would be silly to stop now” thinking.

After last night I don’t feel a driving need to continue the exploration achievements. But I probably will. Because one thing in WoW that always draws you in is the “I’m half done so I might as well finish” rationale. Besides, it gives me something to do as a change of pace or when I am too distracted to run an instance.

4 Responses to “Achievements – making us do stuff we normally wouldn’t”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 11:03 am

    I’m 100% with you on the poorly laid out dungeons. A full group ran Maradon last night just to get the achievement – and it took us forever. We got completely turned around, and just had to try and find the trash that wasn’t dead yet to lead us to the next boss.

    Granted, I’m the person who gets lost in the tunnel in Teldrasil.

  2. 2 arb
    October 22, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I was starting to get distracted by Achievements too, but then I discovered how SERIOUSLY Blizzard had nerfed Raids. On its last pre-3.0.2 progression raid, my Guild repeatedly wiped on Teron Gorefiend in BT. We just couldn’t get him down fast enough, and too many constructs made it to the raid. Last night we burst him down before the 3rd person got ghosted, even with a few constructs in the raid. We went on to take down Gurtogg on our first proper try (a mis-pull doesn’t count) and then Reliquary of Souls with little trouble too.

    With all the AOE heals available now, the RIDICULOUS boost to hunter/boomkin/retridin DPS and the 30% cut in Health/dmg of all mobs, even BT is a cakewalk. Get your Guild in there asap, see some new content, and get some levelling gear before November 13th!

  3. 3 Xtian
    October 23, 2008 at 9:58 am

    I like having the occasional massively crazy dungeon (Mara, WC, BRD), since exploring those places is a lot of fun precisely because they’re so huge. But plopping WC in as the 2nd dungeon for a Horde character was a mistake. Ultimately, I’d like to see one or two more sprawling-style dungeons mixed in with the typical linear speed run dungeons at 80.

  4. October 23, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I liked BRD. Despite its sprawl and size, you felt like you were going somewhere.

    I think that instances in WotLK are going to be short and sweet. I can’t cite the source, but I know I read that somewhere.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,748 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

