21
Oct
08

Rogues and damage meters, post patch 3.0.2

Almost every rogue I know has a love affair with damage meters. It goes with the fact that our one and only job is to do damage, so we had better be good at it. For me, if there is a run where I did not top the meters, then I feel like I didn’t perform at my best. I don’t post damage meters in chat – that’s e-peening at its worst. I don’t brag about my dps… damage is what I am supposed to do, so there is nothing to brag about. I use the damage meter as a check that I am doing my job.  (I use Recount for all the great graphs it provides)

The good news for rogues… in this post-patch world your damage meter totals should be beyond your wildest pre-patch imaginings.

The bad… so will everyone else’s, and maybe beyond yours.

For the next few weeks, I and a lot of rogues might be a little uncomfortable looking at our meters. Its not that the classes have all been buffed (although they have), but the fact that the way the game is played has changed, at least until November 13.

Since every tank can now do AoE threat and hold aggro on multiple mobs, raid mobs don’t hit as hard, and every healer can push through scads of healing, every pull can now be an AoE pull. In my three raids and two instances this weekend, we used almost zero crowd control. Ever. Almost every trash pull was a gather-em-up-and-nuke-em-down exercise.

That means that balance druids are in boomkin-heaven right now. Hurricane with no cooldown? Let ‘er rip. Warlocks, mages… their damage is going to be through the roof on group trash pulls.

Also, mobs are dying really, really fast. Rogues need a little time to build combo points and get into a rotation. There is little opportunity for that right now. So burst damage classes will excel on single-target trash pulls.

In our SSC run, our balance druid was posting the Recount charts in raid chat after almost every pull, until we asked him to stop. I understand that he was excited to be putting out such ridiculous damage totals. He had never been close to the top of the meters before. It didn’t bother me. I was happy for him.

Wait, who am I trying to kid? Of course it bothered me. I still have my own personal standard of performance, and I had to strive to meet it. At first I was a little frustrated with the hectic play style. Eventually I became numb to it. It was obvious that I could not keep up on most trash pulls.

Fortunately, we rogues can (and should) still be at the top on single-target boss fights. At the end of the SSC run I was the top damage overall, mostly because I nearly doubled the moonkin’s damage on the Tidewalker fight.

I expect that this should level off after the expansion. The instance mobs should hit harder in Northrend (I hope) and AoE tanking should not be the norm. If it is, then we rogues may have to get used to a new world order in damage charts.

9 Responses to “Rogues and damage meters, post patch 3.0.2”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I’m hoping that the Northrend Heroics will force a bit more CC, but I’ve given up on it while leveling. I’ve tanked every 5-man in Wrath, and haven’t used any CC. At all.

    I started off saying “Skull is the dps focus, we’ll add marks for CC as needed.” Now I’ve shortened that to “Skull is the safe-dps target.”

    The good news for rogues, and other aoe-impaired classes, is that most (not all, but most) of the instances have a good mix of large and small pulls. Also, I don’t stop for mana (dps mana, that is – healers have their own rules), so melee doesn’t loose out on pew-pew time after a few big pulls. That alone tends to make a big difference in 5-mans, but perhaps not-so-much in raids.

  2. October 24, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Chain pulls rock, because you can carry your buffs from one fight to the next without having to expend energy and combo points ramping everything up. I wish I could get our tanks to chain pull, but they are more cautious…

  3. October 31, 2008 at 10:45 am

    hey ..

    i dinged before the patch .. few day

    then i boosted my gear ! toke it to the next level ..

    T6 hand and some MH and BT gear

    but i suck in damage meter .. in raids .. and some heroics

    even tanks do bater damage than me ..
    AoE classes with green gear do bater damage than my T6

    i tried all spec (sub-compat-assas) but nothing work !

    then i wake up and think …. before the last patch .. hit rating was the main thing rogues focus on

    after the patch .. blizzard add armor penetration on all items ..

    so i started to think why …

    maybe that’s the secret ..

    i didn,t make sure yet ..

    i,m gonna try it then gonna tell u guys

    …. cya all later

  4. October 31, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    @Speedor

    The only way a tank should beat you in damage meters is if you don’t have enough Time On Target. What I mean is that you should be attacking a lot. The tank is on the target 100% of the time. If you are attacking even 80% of the time, you should be way ahead of the tank.

    Are you putting Instant and Deadly Poison on your weapons?

    Are you using cooldown abilities such as Blade Flurry, Adrenaline Rush, Mutilate, Cold Blood when they are available?

    And I am curious – how did you ding 70 just before the patch, and already get your hands on T6 gear? I don’t even have any T6 gear.

  5. 5 Newshoes
    November 25, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Just wondering what everyone is doing in terms of the new patch killing the beloved Damagemeters? i get sadder every time i look down, see a blank spot, type /dm show and i get the “Type /help blah blah” :'( i lived by that thing. Is this attack better with the AP trinket or the Haste trinket? Check the damage meter! I <3 u damagemeters, wherever you went. It feels like only yesterday we first came in contact. Heh, a random chance-encounter when it was actually Cosmos and I who were pairing. Oh, Cosmos, that friend you brought with you turned acquaintance to friendship to love. Cosmos is out of my life now, and by my choice, but Damagemeter . . . where have you gone since 3.0.2 hit?

    Please, if anyone has seen it, post a link :)

    Newshoes
    Stormreaver(A)

  6. November 25, 2008 at 11:12 am

    I haven’t used Damagemeters since well before Burning Crusade. I switched to Recount so long ago I can’t even remember.

  7. 7 Newshoes
    November 25, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    I’ll give it a try. Hopefully it fills the empty void within my soul where Damagemeters once called home :(

  8. 8 Newshoes
    November 26, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    FYI I tried recount and i LOVE it :) thank you sooooo much!

  9. 9 Aircainn
    December 2, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I’ve found that u should not let SnD drop for a second even.. i’m currently lvl 80 and running heroics quite often and as long as i keep SnD up and use ALL my CDs as SOON as i get them then my DPS isn’t that bad.. of course warlocks with their seeds and mages on alot of pulls will still win overall damage but single boss damage usully goes to me


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,205,729 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

