17
Oct
08

Fishing Achievements

I have always enjoyed fishing in WoW.  It is simple and mindless, much like real fishing.  Its something to do when I am not mentally up for an instance run, and a good way to keep the guild supplied with buff food.

Because I have been a dedicated fisherman since I started WoW, I am certainly interested in doing the fishing Acheievements.  I have already fished from a school and caught 25 fish.  I have fished from a couple of the wreckage pools and I can get the rest quickly.  I will be able to fish from the different fish schools easily enough, too.  Fishing dailies – I do those, anyway.

I have never tried the Stranglethorn Fishing Extravaganza, but I guess I will start doing that (along with lots of other fishermen who want the achievement).

There is one achievement to fish something up in both Stormwind and Orgrimmar.  I have an admission… I have only played alliance toons.  I have never even seen Orgrimmar.  I know about where it is, but I have never been close to it.

So, as a stealth class, will I be able to get into Orgrimmar for long enough to catch a single fish?  It there only one entrance, with guards that will see through stealth?  Or is it easy to sneak into?

7 Responses to “Fishing Achievements”


  1. 1 Rochmoninoff
    October 17, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Dinear,
    I stealthed into all the cross-faction capitals for both the coin-collecting of the Lunar Fesitival as well as the bonfire-dousing of the Midsummer Fire Festival.

    1. Virtually all the lvl 70 toons base themselves in Shatt
    2. On a PVE server most people actually dislike PVP (the exceptions hange around Shatt)
    3. Most of the remaining will either a: not care, or b: enjoy the cross-faction visit and /dance /flirt or otherwise /welcome you

    With that said, I did play a very exciting game of cat-and-mouse with a troll hunter determined to kill me while coin-collecting in Ogrimar. But I lived!
    (I tried to sneak back out along the roof tops , he dropped a flare in the street and then hid in a nook on the roof top to snipe me. We were both surprised when I bumped into him. Sap + Sprint + Prep + Vanish FTW)

  2. October 17, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve been there for the Midsummer Fire Festival as well. Playing on a PvP server, it’s a bit more complicated, but I’ve been able to do it. And I think most of the guards didn’t see stealth anyway.

    The problem may be fishing, but I think you can hide and /lay in a waterfall and fish that way. Haven’t tried it yet :)

  3. October 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Edit: /lie of course, sorry about that :)

  4. October 17, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    The first thing I suggest is create a hord toon on another server and run them to Ogrimar and take a tour and find the best fishing spot. Now I’ve never gone there to fish so I’m not sure where the best spots are. But there is a side door to Ogrimar if you follow the river that is much easier to get into. Its less traveled by the hord, and there is only 1 sentry that can see through stealth that wanders that road, so if you time it right and stay to the left you can get all the way in without being seen.

  5. 5 Jacob
    October 17, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    A fishing spot that I’m sure works is in the valley of honor – my Horde toons do some fishing there.
    There is also water by the valley of spirits near the mage trainer, but I haven’t personally fished there and don’t know if it is deep enough.

    I’ve placed pins on this WoWhead map to give you an idea of the spots I’m talking about:

    http://www.wowhead.com/?maps=1637:672326341866

    Now that the guards are level 75, getting into Orgrimmar will be harder than it was during the lunar festival when the guards were 65. Good luck!

  6. 6 Xtian
    October 20, 2008 at 9:40 am

    The side entrance that Azzarrea talks about will basically dump you next to the lake in the Valley of Spirits that Jacob mentions. It is fishable, but there is no real cover to hide in. Stay to the west side, as the eastern side has the portal trainer where people show up when they port in (either from a mage or from Shat).

  7. 7 Brierley
    October 20, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I did the Org fishing the other day. All of the gate guards have been turned to level 75 and even if they don’t show the symbol, they can see through a level 70 stealth.

    Basically I stealthed near the guards, was seen, hit dash and tried to run in as far from the entrance as possible.

    Then I ran back to my body (the annoying part since the GY is at crossroads @ 1/2 way down durotar) Rezzed as far into Org as I could behind some pots. I was near the bank/Ah but by hiding before rezzing and then quickly stealthing I was able to continue on.

    Basically at that point I just kept my eyes out for guards and when I saw them I pressed up against a wall and waited till they passed before moving. The guards that stood still I could pass by slowly moving on the opposite side.

    I went to the lake in the Valley of Honor, it was farther away, but there were some rocks I could hide behind and not be seen. I didn’t stay long enough to try for the rare fish just got the fishing diplomat done.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,204,854 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

