16
Sep
08

WotLK Preorders and Collector’s Edition

I am a person who loves convenience. (I suppose you can read that as “lazy” if you want) If I can get something delivered to my door rather than drive somewhere and buy it, then I am all for it.

With the Wrath expansion, the Blizzard web site directs you to preorder at several major retailers… Circuit City, Best Buy, Gamestop, and Amazon are the ones I recall. However, yesterday when the announcement was made, you could only preorder the regular version of the game, and not the collector’s edition.

My wife is now an avid vanity pet collector, so I want to get one collector’s edition for the baby frost wyrm pet. Hmmm… what to do.

By the end of the day yesterday, Gamestop was preordering the collector’s edition, and guaranteeing November 13th delivery, but with a $15 $5 charge tacked onto the price.

This morning, Amazon added preorders for the collector’s edition, but with a limit of one per household, and the delivery date is November 17.

edit: Amazon is currently sold out of the C.E.

Right now neither Best Buy nor Circuit City are preordering the collector’s edition.

So… my choices right now would be

  1. preorder from Gamestop to get it on release day, but at a $15 $5 markup
  2. preorder from Amazon but wait until four days after release to get it
  3. go to a midnight release somewhere
  4. wait until regular business hours on November 13 and hope that the stores have enough collector’s editions in stock

I didn’t buy collector’s editions of the previous releases, so I have no memory of how many there were to go around. I’ve read online that people expect there to be plenty available. I’d hate to bet on that, only to find on release day that I can’t get one.

Its still two months off… I suppose I can wait to see if other suppliers start doing preorders.

2 Responses to “WotLK Preorders and Collector’s Edition”


  1. September 16, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Didn’t notice the 17th delivery date, had to cancel the order from amazon.
    Phew! That was close!

  2. September 16, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I’ve got to think that at some point they will add release-day delivery. I know that they had it with BC. As of now, though, its not an option.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,187,147 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

