17
Aug
08

WotLK combat daggers… now with more backstab

Actually, its the same amount of backstab.  Its the same everything, really.

I haven’t had much time to play in the WotLK beta, so my impressions are still based on being level 70-71.  Here’s what I have noticed.

My rogue is a combat dagger rogue, and my paladin is full prot.  For now, I kept them both in the same talent trees to look for differences.

Right now my rogue plays the same as he does in BC.  My attack rotation is the same, and feels equally effective.  Seeing my energy increase smoothly rather than in jumps is nice.  The Prey on the Weak talent is up almost all of the time, so my crits are a little bigger.  I have tried to put myself in situations where I was being attacked my multiple mobs and I could try out Murder Spree.  When I have tried it, I haven’t seen anything happen, so I need to experiment with that a bit more.  In summary, playing a combat dagger rogue in Northrend feels exactly like playing one pre-WotLK.  Its a little disappointing, really.  Maybe things will pick up as I level.  If not, I may try an Assassination spec.

On the other hand, the paladin was completely different.  There are other bloggers out there who have gone over this in great detail, so I’ll spare the long story.  Suffice it to say that I was able to actually do damage and kill mobs without blowing my whole mana pool.  I almost prefer playing my paladin in the beta over my rogue.

I hope to have some time to play the beta this week.  Tropical Storm Fay looks like it is going to skirt along the Florida coast.  To many, that means boarding up windows and “hunkering down.”  To me it means I might have a day off from work to play WoW, assuming I don’t lose my power.

3 Responses to “WotLK combat daggers… now with more backstab”


  1. August 17, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    I believe Murder Spree is still marked as Not Yet Implemented in the latest beta build, so you’ll have to wait for the rogue polish pass to try that one out :(

    I know you’re not particularly interested in PvP, but subtlety daggers has seen some massive improvements – it might be worth a try, just for fun. A lot of the assassination talents are NYI as well but there’s some pretty crazy-looking stuff in there too. I don’t know how you can bear to solo with a positional build, though!

    Combat seems the most underwhelming to me at the moment, but there’s still time for them to sort it out!

  2. August 18, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Interesting choice on sticking with combat daggers, having looked at the talent trees when they came out I was mostly unimpressed with the top level stuff in the combat and subtlety trees and instead looked back at getting a heavy assassination build as described here -> http://4tehfite.blogspot.com/2008/07/expansion-rogue-build.html

    However anything that adds some challenges to the repetitive nature of combat swords will be a bonus wherever it lives in the talent trees.

  3. August 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

    The reason I chose to stay with combat daggers right now is because that is what I know. I’m trying to make comparisons between pre- and post-WotLK, and I can’t do that with a spec I’m not familiar with.

    This is the beta, so what I do now is not necessarily what I will stick with down the line. I fully intend to try a deep Assassination build during the beta. Subtlety? Probably, just to see what its got.

    @Chronic – I don’t mind soloing with daggers. When I’m soloing I’m not trying to beat anyone on damage meters. I can still kill things if I’m not behind them. OK, so it might be 1.5 seconds faster with a sword. I think the positioning aspect is fun, even when solo. It keeps me doing something other than hitting 111121111211112. Combat is more interactive when I am stunning and repositioning, even if its not as efficient.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,747 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

