09
Aug
08

PvP Barriers

I’ve said before that I don’t do any PvP at all. This week, out of boredom, I’ve engaged in some world PvP in Halaa and the Bone Wastes. It was moderately fun. Yet I still have no interest in doing BG.

Until the Olympics began.

Not for me, mind you, but for my wife. She is that unusual species of WoW player – a pet collector. She has pets from the CCG, rare pets, holiday pets, etc… Now that the Olympics are here she wants the Spirit of Competition, which you can only get by winning battlegrounds.

She has never done any PvP of any type. So if she wants to go into a BG, its up to me and my guildies to bring her in there. Yet we have not done it? Why?

We have no resilience. But that’s not why.

Our gear is clearly itemized for PvE. For my rogue that’s not a big deal but my wife’s resto druid has low armor and not a heck of a lot of stamina. But that’s not it either.

Its the people.

My wife remembers when I did BG in the 20-29 bracket a long, long time ago. The entire game was a long string of wannabe generals barking out commands, followed by insults, whispers, and swearing about how much alliance sucks. You had people screaming for heals when they ran in alone against five horde, others railing about how they had no one helping them carry the flag, half the players wanting to zerg, others wanting to turtle.  Everyone speaks in abbreviations that my wife can’t possibly make sense of since she doesn’t know the maps or objectives.

She decided then that PvP was not for her.

My wife and I are both experience-oriented rather than goal-oriented. What I mean by that is that we play to enjoy the experience, not for the rewards. If something is not fun, we’re not going to do it, regardless of the loot or gear that comes from it. For this reason, I doubt that she will end up getting the pet. The people in BG make the experience miserable.

Maybe she should just go into AV, close her chat window, and find a corner somewhere and run in circles. Alliance is bound to win eventually.

9 Responses to “PvP Barriers”


  1. August 9, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Try finding a group of friends and going into Warsong Gulch, Arathi Basin, or Eye of the Storm; they require at most fifteen people and you might be able to get enough like-minded people to try for the pet. That way, you avoid the asshattery that tends to crop up when you randomly join a group.

    And it’s not always too bad, but I think that the pet has brought a lot of people into the Battlegrounds who just don’t want to PvP but feel the need to do so to get the pet. It’s irksome.

  2. August 10, 2008 at 1:15 am

    AV is good too, but instead of runing in circles just run with the crowd, and if you are 3 or 4 people from one realm sticking together you might even find it fun :)

  3. August 10, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Hey Dinaer, you sound just like me :) What, BGs? No way I’m gonna go there and read all those stupid people that won’t become organized even if it kills them not to…

    Only fun BGs I’ve done on my characters were when I went in with a group of my guildies – with 5 people on vent and a healer with us we’re organized enough to help Alliance win (at least in Eye of the Storm and Arathi Basin, which I consider the best BGs).

    And if your wife is a resto druid, then better for you – if you get any heals in BG you’re that closer to winning. Everybody loves a healer there :)

  4. 4 azande
    August 11, 2008 at 4:07 am

    If you don’t have resilience, vendors from various factions sell blue PvP pieces with slightly lower stats than season 1. IIRC you need to be revered with them, but is an easy and affordable way to start.

    AV is good, especially if you queue with a few friends, just pick an objective (either Galv or a tower) take it and defend it. Done, move to the next or try and take back the bunkers once Horde has attacked them.

  5. August 14, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I have the best time in AV as a healer – it’s really just a matter of figuring out who to follow and assist. I actually go in on my shadow priest – but I stay out of shadow and heal, dot a bit, buff everyone that needs it, but then heal – because there’s always tons of people dpsing and few healers. And I have no idea if I’m just on a nice server or what – but I’ve had people actually stop and thank me. And since I’d had past bad bg experiences those thank yous always make me stop and say “wait, what?!” It’s nice though!

    Resilience isn’t make or break. Some of getting used to bg is just that if you’re dps and there are no/few healers, dying means regeneration of health. For mana users dying means you’ll get health and mana regenerated. So dying’s not actually a bad thing, and it moves you around the map in a way that’s often helpful. The real trick to AV is just to get used to the map, and then to find people to assist who are working towards a goal that makes sense. Going in with friends will always make things easier. The best thing about AV will also be that if there are jerks, the other activity and larger group of people there will drown them out. The smaller bgs allow the jerks to grab center stage a bit more, which makes it seem worse.

    I’m a pet collector too, so I totally understand! Even though the medal isn’t supposed to drop with every winning bg, just with a percentage, it looks as though it’s not that rare, and you shouldn’t have to run too many of them. Then look into some of the gems or armor you can get for only a few thousand honor points, and your time will have been well spent.

  6. August 14, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Even if your wife isn’t a healer (sorry, I looked around but couldn’t find out what class she plays) this blog post might help a bit – mostly because I am SO not a pvp person, but I’m in there and managing to have fun:

    Yes, Really, I PVP on My Priest

  7. 7 arb
    August 18, 2008 at 9:29 am

    I’m always interested in these kind of posts. I used to be 100% PvP until 2-3 months ago. Sure, there’s a lot of whining and abuse in battlegrounds – a lot of it unnecessary. Much of is is borne out of frustration at people who don’t understand the strategy, or simply want to farm kills. I try to be constructive in advising people how best to win, but met with responses like “I’m here to have fun, not win” and “who made you leader?” I tend to give up, perhaps offering a barbed remark or two toward the offenders’ poor performance in all aspects.

    However, when you PuG a Battleground, the worst these muppets can do is condemn you to a loss, or a Deserter flag for 15 minutes if you can’t put up with it any longer.

    PuG instances are SO much worse. I’ve seen abuse at least as bad as BG chat directed at group and raid members in PuGs. I’ve seen people kicked part way through for poor performance. I’ve had people refuse to resurrect inexperienced players, condemning them to a deadly run through part-cleared instances. Hunters misdirecting bosses onto healers, then hearthing is a favourite. And there are real costs to incur here. Repair costs. Consumables costs. Opportunity costs from ninja-looters, or being kicked during your weekly Kara run or daily Heroic, unable to re-run with another group.

    So, PvP does not have exclusive rights to idiots. Most of us wouldn’t choose to run Kara, Z’A or even Heroics with a full PuG. So, why do we expect it to be so much better in battlegrounds. If you want to have a good time in Warsong Gulch then find 9 friends and go in together. You’ll get a lot less abuse and stand a much better chance of winning too :)

  8. August 18, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    @arb – yeah, I don’t PUG instances either.

  9. 9 arb
    August 19, 2008 at 4:42 am

    @Dinaer – I wouldn’t either, if I had a choice – low population server FTL.

    I guess my summary point would just be not to write off PvP on the basis of your PuG experiences, in the same way it would be inadvisable to abandon instances due to poor PuGs.

    For my mage, some of the PvP rewards offer the best DPS per slot prior to BT/MH, so I have found myself grinding honor on my Fire mage. I can’t be bothered to respec to the optimal Frost spec for these occasional forays into battlegrounds, so I just go all out damage, often still wearing my Heroic DPS gear. Glass cannons FTW!

    Incidentally, have you checked out the Guardian’s Pendant of Triumph? According to MaxDPS.com it’s only bettered by two neck items for rogues pre-BT, and as Dinaer is Scryer it’d be better for you than your current neck item, especially if you could stretch to an epic gem.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,840 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

