06
Aug
08

First impression

I’m not going to go on at length about the things I saw in the WotLK beta, because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. I’ll just give general impressions.

First – the parts I have seen so far are beautiful and artistic.

Second – I have done about a dozen quests, and so far I have only had two “kill X of these things” quests. That’s good, because those get old, especially in a starting zone where everyone is competing to get the same mobs as they spawn.

Third – I have yet to replace any of my epic gear with green drops or quest rewards.

Fourth – my damage is fine. I remember when I first went to Hellfire Peninsula when BC came out. I was level 60, and the Starving Hellboars were level 58 but they hit HARD. I had to bandage myself after every 2nd kill. It was really slow going (of course, I was in level 60 blue gear then, with no raid experience or tier gear). Now in Northrend at level 70 wearing T4/Kara/badge epics, I find that the mobs are no harder than the ones on Quel’Danas that we kill for the dailies. I can kill quickly and efficiently as a rogue.

I specced into some of the new combat tree talents. I’ll let you know how they work when I get some more time to observe them in action.

3 Responses to “First impression”


  1. August 6, 2008 at 10:13 am

    I heard that the fine people at Blizzard didn’t want the gear change from The Burning Crusade to Wrath of the Lich King to be as much of a leap as when the first expansion was released. I guess that the difficulty of the enemies ties into that; if your gear isn’t getting that much better, then the enemies can’t get that much harder. Good news either way!

    And I’m glad that to hear that the questions won’t all be mindless repetitions of “kills x mobs y times”. I’ve seen information on some really awesome quests that we put into the expansion and I’m optimistic.

  2. 2 Amar
    August 7, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    How are the story elements of the quests?

  3. August 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    So far the beginning quests are connected, but there is not a lot of “big picture” story. Mostly “run here and do this errand” type of quests with the connecting theme of the Scourge siege on Valiance Keep. Hopefully when I get out of the starting zone I’ll see more of the overarching story.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,212,830 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

