02
Jun
08

A Good Weekend

I had a very good weekend of WoW.

Thursday: Did a quick heroic Mech run to get the last couple of badges I needed for the Blade of Serration. According to the well-known DPS Spreadsheet, this is the best PvE main hand dagger I can get without doing BT or Sunwell. So after getting it enchanted I am set there, probably until the expansion.

Friday: Ran Gruul’s Lair with our partner guild. We are getting much better at that nasty High King pull. We are still not perfect, but its a lot less frustrating. And Gruul himself is a piece of cake. Gruul dropped the Champion T4 Leggings. I threw my name in the hat for them, along with the other rogues and paladins. Surprise! I won them. (I’ll post about our quirky DKP system later) That took care of my glaring need for a leg item upgrade.  Slapped a Nethercobra Leg Armor on it and I was happy. That allowed me to switch out my T4 shoulders (which are mediocre) for the slightly better Bladed Shoulderpads of the Merciless without losing the T4 set bonus.

Saturday-Sunday: Our partner guild had some internal issues, so there was no cooperative Kara run this week. To our surprise, we actually had enough people online to do our own run! We did need two players to respec, but they didn’t seem to mind. We had enough time to do Kara through Curator and get some players some nice gear upgrades.

Partway through the run, during a break between bosses, I was flipping through my gear lists and I realized that there is nothing that I need from Karazhan anymore. The only items that drop there which would be upgrades are the Steelhawk Crossbow or Sunfury Bow of the Phoenix, and those are going to go to hunters before I get a shot. Other than that, I’ll be running Kara just for badges and to gear up other guildies.

That was a big moment for me.  Before Burning Crusade I had never raided anything beyond UBRS, and even that I only did once or twice.  I had never owned any raid tier armor pieces before, either.  Now I have done a raid instance (only a 10-man, but still…) and gotten every item I can use from it.  I have 3 T4 pieces and could have a fourth except I didn’t want it.  I’ve come a long way.  :)

The flip side – from this point the gear upgrades I need (without doing pvp) are in raid instances that I am not currently doing.  Time to light a fire under someone!  Lets do Void Reaver!

5 Responses to “A Good Weekend”


  1. 1 Elton
    June 2, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Somewhat off-topic, but I think you should get mouseover item links in here, makes it look much nicer.

    Theres a tutorial here if you dont know where to get one

  2. June 2, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Congratulations on the loot! The legs are nice and the dagger is even nicer. As you say, that should last you a while.

    I haven’t plugged your gear into a spreadsheet, but Xavian Stiletto (http://www.wowhead.com/?item=28659) would probably be a small upgrade if you feel the need to torture yourself with just one more Karazhan drop ;)

    Steelhawk or Sunfury would be better, but if you have undergeared hunters that might take a while :(

  3. June 2, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Definately gratz! Good blogging. Fuzz

  4. 4 Hrog
    June 3, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Congratz on reaching this milestone!

    Good fun to read blogs like this.

    Eventhough my guild is a bit further down the line (in the last couple of weeks we entered MH and BT, killing 1st and 2nd bosses first raid, WOOHAA), we’re in kind off the same position: Raiding alliance with two guilds, having a casual raiding-scheme, etc. Come to think of it, our gear isn’t that far apart either, I can identify with quite a few posts you made so far.

    Greetings!

  5. June 3, 2008 at 9:56 am

    @Elton – since wordpress.com does not support javascript, I don’t think there is anything I can do about the mouseover item links. Its too bad – I really like them. In fact, the first blog I ever did was made just to figure out how that was done (using the itemstats plugin, before thottbot and wowhead made it simple).

    @Chronic – I would take the Xavian Stiletto. The spreadsheet shows that it is no different than what I have (Felsteel Whisper Knives), basically trading AP for Crit. But its an epic drop from a raid boss which makes it worth having. Heck, I have Fool’s Bane and I’m never going to use it.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,200,165 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

