20
May
08

Planning my Upgrades

I’m accumulating Badges of Justice (up to 97 now), running Karazhan and Gruul’s Lair regularly, and hoping to get to Magtheridon soon. We don’t do full clears of Kara because we don’t always have someone in the raid who can summon Nightbane, and we have enough trouble with Netherspite that we leave him until last “if we have time”, and then run out of time. I am getting somewhere around 20-25 Badges a week even without running any heroics. Time to think about upgrades…

Main Hand weapon:

  • Currently using Emerald Ripper
  • Next upgrade: Blade of Serration. This is what I have been saving my Badges of Justice for. I should have the 105 Badges for it sometime next week. Of all the badge rewards I can get, I think this gives me the largest immediate increase in my damage output.

Off-Hand Weapon:

  • Currently using Swift Blade of Uncertainty
  • Next upgrade: None on the horizon. While the Edge of Oppression from heroic MgT may be a small upgrade due to its 1.3 speed and haste rating, and despite its lower dps, I don’t have any real drive to get it.

Head:

  • Currently wearing Mask of the Deceiver
  • Next upgrade: Netherblade Facemask. This is not much of an upgrade, but I need a 2nd piece of the T4 armor to get the 2-piece set bonus. The gloves from Curator are inferior to what I have, and there is a lot of competition in a 25 man raid for the T4 leggings from Gruul. In Karazhan there is not as much competition for drops, so I expect to get this the next time it drops from Prince.  Edit:  I got the Netherblade Facemask last night.  As soon as I get the Glyph for it I’ll equip it.

Neck:

Shoulders:

  • Currently wearing Bladed Shoulderpads of the Merciless
  • Next upgrade: Netherblade Shoulderpads, which are already sitting in my bank. Straight up this is not really an upgrade, but once I have a second piece of the T4 set the set bonus will help a lot. Also, I have been saving up gold so if I ever see the Swiftstrike Shoulders LW pattern on the AH I will be able to buy it, and switch this out for a different T4 piece.  Edit:  I got the T4 helm last night, so as soon as I get the proper glyphs on them I will be equipping my two T4 pieces for the set bonus.

Chest:

  • Currently wearing Primalstrike Vest
  • Next upgrade: None on the horizon. The Badge gear is too small an upgrade to justify spending 100 Badges. A strongly doubt I will see the Sunwell BoE LW pattern on the AH anytime soon.

Wrists:

Hands:

  • Currently wearing Gloves of Dextrous Manipulation
  • Next upgrade: Is Trickster’s Stickyfingers enough of an upgrade to be worth 60 Badges? If I get some other haste rating gear I would get these to stack haste. Otherwise… only if I have enough Badges after new dagger, pants, and a ring…

Waist:

Legs:

  • Currently wearing Fel Leather Leggings, and I have been wearing these !^$%# things since level 69, for crying out loud. These are nice pants, but also my most glaring need for an upgrade, I think.
  • Next upgrade: While it would be good to get the Netherblade Breeches from Gruul, I think that I will likely not have the DKP to get them from the other two rogues in our raid group. I hope to get the Skulker’s Greaves from Netherspite. Another option is some Badge gear. The Trousers of the Scryer’s Retainer (100 Badges of Justice) or the Shallow-Grave Trousers (75 Badges) would both be nice upgrades. Unfortunately, buying either of those now would prevent me from getting my new main-hand weapon (see above). I think the Blade of Serration will have a bigger impact on my dps, so I’m going to hope for the Greaves to drop. Badge pants rank third after the dagger and ring, so that would be a ways off. I should get a drop by then.

Feet:

  • Currently wearing Edgewalker Longboots
  • Next upgrade: There are pretty good Badge boots available, but there is no way I’ll get enough Badges for a dagger, pants, ring, and boots before WotLK. So my only upgrade option right now is the Sunrage Treads from normal MgT, and that’s not much of an upgrade.

Rings:

Trinkets:

  • Currently using Hourglass of the Unraveller and Darkmoon Card: Crusade
  • Next upgrades: Ideally – the Dragonspine Trophy. However, I think that all of the rogues and hunters in my raid group are hoarding their DKP for this, so I don’t expect to get it anytime soon. I may have to suck it up and go into the wipefest that is heroic MgT for the Shard of Contempt. I expect it will cost me 70g or more in repair bills, but its a nice trinket.

The Plan…

  1. 105 Badges for Blade of Serration
  2. Skulker’s Greaves from Netherspite (hopefully soon)
  3. T4 helm from Prince combined with T4 shoulders that I already have in the bank Done!
  4. 60 Badges for Angelista’s Revenge
  5. Maybe try MgT for Sunrage Treads and/or heroic MgT for Shard of Contempt
  6. Keep an eye open for Swiftstrike LW patterns on the AH
9 Responses to “Planning my Upgrades”


  1. 1 Rishkkin
    May 20, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Why not do some BG for the S2 weapons ? Sats wise it’s not perfect, but on the DPS side, it will be an upgrade and this will allow you to use your badges for teh legs, which are realy in need of an upgrade.

  2. May 20, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I don’t PvP. I find it to be both frustrating and dull. I spent some time in BG in my early levels, just long enough to get the PvP trinket, and never went back. I am certain that playing BG every day to grind honor would make me want to quit the game.

    Heck, I don’t even duel.

    I have nothing against PvP lovers. Its just not for me.

  3. 3 Azande
    May 21, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Before spending any badges, I would download the dps spreadsheet here: http://rogue.raidcal.com.

    Plug in your current equipment and then you can easily check what would be the best upgrade for you.

  4. May 21, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Thanks! I have already examined that spreadsheet. It replaced Shadowpanther’s site as my main resource a few months ago. Its been giving me some odd results lately, but it is still a great tool.

  5. 5 Hrog
    May 21, 2008 at 7:31 am

    You might want to check out Heroic SP, you can get some (more than) decent pants. The spite-pants had been eluding to me for a long time and these were a nice filler in the meantime!

  6. 6 Azande
    May 21, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Also, with regards to the waist slot, now that Vortexes are available from Badge vendor and on AH, the Belt of Deep Shadow is a good upgrade, if somewhat expensive, especially with two Rigid Dawnstones socketed (the +3 Agility bonus is not worth socketing for)

  7. 7 gus
    May 21, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Recently the same happened to me I used mainly the panther sheet due to ease of use

    I put all of the upgrades I could get with badges and noted their rating then I checked my current gear for their rating as well and put the diference next to the item next to this number I placed how much each item costed in badges of justice.

    the results may surprise you.

    so in short go for the biggest upgrade with the less cost simple math

    In my case I need to save tons of badges for the Trousers of the Scryer’s Retainer
    I also use the fel leather leggings mainly for the bigger to hit compared to the leggins of assasination bigger damage.

  8. May 22, 2008 at 9:18 am

    I suppose it’s too late to suggest the MH fist rather than dagger ;(

    Have you checked a spreadsheet for this stuff? It looks like you’re valuing primalstrike pretty highly, and I’m not quite sure why… MAW are better than the bracers (not as good as swiftstrike but the difference isn’t big and they’re a lot easier to get) and the badge chest is a LOT better than the primalstrike one.

    And as somebody already mentioned, Midnight Legguards (http://www.wowhead.com/?item=30538) are decent if skulkers aren’t dropping for you. The badge pants are really strong though – maybe better off doing these before the ring? Not sure, but the spreadsheet will be able to tell you.

    And yeah, the MgT stuff is really good, especially the trinket. Distracting blades from the first boss on heroic is another good item, as well as Quickening Blade of the Prince for your combat fist+sword build! ;)

  9. May 22, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I have checked the spreadsheet until I have the darn thing memorized. Its not that I have the Primalstrike valued in any sentimental way. There’s just not a lot out there until I have either a ton of badges or go to SSC. Breaking the Primalstrike set costs me the +40 AP set bonus. You have to keep that in mind when comparing the gear. The spreadsheet says that the Master Assassin Wristwraps are not an upgrade, basically due to the loss of the set bonus. The Tunic of the Dark Hour comes off as a 4.6 dps upgrade per the spreadsheet. The main hand dagger is +32 dps.

    As far as the fists… there is where my closet RPer comes out. In my mind, rogues use daggers. I have never had any interest in using fists or swords. Even if I wanted to try them now, I have already invested 45 Badges in my Swift Blade of Uncertainty. I don’t get enough Badges to just throw that away.

    Besides, I like playing dagger spec. :)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 92 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 91 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 92 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,219,622 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

