29
Apr
08

Maneuvering Through a Crowd

Does this happen to you?

I walk into the Auction House. Its packed. The area in from of the auctioneers is jammed with a crowd of people. I say to myself, “darn, how am I going to get in there.” Then I laugh at myself for being an idiot, since I can move right through the characters in the crowd. Even so, I try to find a little empty space where I can squeeze in.

With no collision detection in the game, we all know that we can walk right through the other players and npc’s. We can stand right on top of/inside them if we want. However, I don’t do that if I can avoid it. When I am running through Ironforge, if I see I am about to run into/through someone I usually swerve out of the way. Its instinctive and natural. When I go to the mailbox, I will walk all the way around it to find an open spot to stand, rather than overlap another toon.

I am certain that I’m not alone in this. If I was the only one, then all the characters in front of the auctioneer would be superimposed in a single stack aligned with the door.

So why do we do that? Manners? An unwritten rule of the game? Latent RP tendencies? Do we need “personal space” for our virtual avatars?

2 Responses to “Maneuvering Through a Crowd”


  1. 1 Elton
    April 29, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    It doesn’t bother me much while moving, but when standing still and doing something (like killing a raid boss) I try and move my guy out of the way so he’s not standing on anyone. The fact that I’m also a gnome doesn’t help visibility lol.

    I think its more of a personal space issue for me. I like to be set apart from everyone else in the crowd somehow, even if nobody else notices but myself.

  2. May 5, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Oh, I do that all of the time! I’d like to blame it on the fact that I’m a roleplayer and I’m just being courteous (unless I’m playing my cantankerous kal’dorei priestess; she’s more likely to bull her way through a crowd), but I think it’s an entirely instinctive reaction. I never really considered that before!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,921 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

