25
Apr
08

Exalted with Shattered Sun

The Shattered Sun rep grind is almost insultingly easy. I will hit Exalted with them with one more round of daily questing, and I really wasn’t even trying. I only finished Magisters’ Terrace once, and I did the dailies to get gold for my mount. How often have you ever reached Exalted without trying? I got close with Kurenai just from questing in Nagrand, but any other faction I wanted rep with I had to motivate myself for a long grind.

Each Outland faction I have reached exalted with – Sha’tar, Consortium, Cenarion Expedition, Scryers – was a concerted effort to get there in order to get some specific items from their quartermaster. I remember when I decided I wanted the Guile of Khoraazi. Every day that I wasn’t running an instance, I was in Netherstorm killing Ethereals at the Heap. When I wanted to be Exalted with Scryers I used every spare moment to slaughter Blood Elves in Shadowmoon.  With Sha’tar and Cenarion there were not enough quests for rep, and I needed to do instance runs to get through Revered.

With Shattered Sun, you can do the dailies to get gold and “accidentally” hit Exalted in the process, which gets you some pretty nice items.

I’m not griping at all. I’m just pointing out that Exalted with SSO is no big accomplishment, which is a change from previous rep grinds.

And on top of that, once you hit Exalted you’re able to buy yourself a fancy title. I may get the title but, to be honest, I don’t deserve a title. I ran around day after day killing mobs that were so easy I could solo whole groups of them. And for that I get a title. That’s nothing compared to the rigors required for the older titles.

This is just part of the wind up before WotLK. Blizz certainly realized that the Quel’Danas storyline is short-lived and no one will do it after the expansion comes out, so it had to be done quickly. I don’t expect that rep grinds in Northrend will be this easy. And I am sure that Dinaer of the Shattered Sun will like wearing his Shattered Sun Pendant of Might.

7 Responses to “Exalted with Shattered Sun”


  1. 1 Rishkkin
    April 25, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Well, for a csual like me those kind of rep grind (as easy as they are) are a real boon.

    I log on every day during lunch time do the dailies and hopefully next week, or the week after I’ll hit exalted. I did the same with skyguard / Ogril’la.

    I don’t have the time to do instances, my play time is mostly 1 hour / day and 2 nights a week (where I either quests / raid (rarely))

    Those quests are a different source of income than the AH, it’s refreshing for me.

  2. April 25, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I’m casual too, although I do play more than you do. Yes, the quests are a great source of income. I just don’t think they should give so much rep. I’m amazed at how fast I got to exalted, just from the daily quests. It feels like I should have needed to work harder to get the rep. Even Ogri’La and Skyguard took much longer.

  3. 3 Rishkkin
    April 25, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    yeah, I agree that ogg / skyguard took longer, it took me as much as long as it took to get the cash from 1000 G to 5000 G just from those quests if I recall correctly.

  4. April 28, 2008 at 12:25 am

    I just hit exalted SSO recently also. I’m surprised it took me only a month with just daily questing and 2 MgT runs. I didn’t even do the quests daily perse, just the days I was on.

    I am surprised though that you’re able to get close to exalted with Kurenai from just questing. I only had ~8000/12000 Honored when I finished Nagrand, and I’m pretty sure I did all the quests I could find.

  5. April 28, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Well I have no idea how I got so close, then. I have never made any concerted effort to grind Kurenai rep, but I am halfway through Revered. If it didn’t come from quests, then it beats me where it came from.

  6. 6 PBean
    April 30, 2008 at 4:11 am

    When I read on the web about the SSO title I mainly read reactions like ‘people don’t deserve a title for such an easy rep/money grind’ combined with ‘it’s lame’. But what I miss in most reactions about it, is the actual reason to get it. A very good example of this is a guildmate of mine. Surely he did not get the title because he wanted to show that he was able to get exalted with these guys. He realizes that it’s easy. He just got the title because he thought it looked cool in combination with his name. And for that same reason he got a Talbuk: because it looks cool. And for that same reason I do have a Talbuk mount and will get the title.

    Having said that, I have no idea how easy it is to get exalted the other ‘quest’ faction (Ogri’la, Netherwing, Skyguard, etc) so I can’t really comment on how this relates to them. However I do know that in comparison to Kurenai and Mag’har (I am exalted on all three of my 70’s) it was indeed way easier. The quests give a lot more reputation and are very easy. The main difference though with the Nagrand ones is that once you are done questing there, you are left to grind Ogres, instead of doing more of the same (easy) quests. And that takes a lot more time, but more importantly patience.

    I will leave in the middle whether or not it’s good, thought I can understand why people are upset with getting to exalted being so easy.

  7. 7 Moose
    August 29, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    At level 80, I made it from neutral to exhalted in just over three days, same as netherwing ledge. Lanparty’s help you get rep faster one way or another xD


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,208,278 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

