31
Mar
08

Server progress – PvE vs PvP

FightingIf you haven’t seen it already, there is a web site monitoring server progress on the new dailies at http://us.gorgonnash.info (that’s the U.S. server page. EU servers are at http://www.gorgonnash.info/index.html)

Looking at the US rankings, I noticed something right away. 19 of the top 20 servers listed are Normal servers. Looking further, 17 of the bottom 20 are PvP servers.

Obviously, server population has a lot to do with the rankings. However, I found servers with population of 10,000+ both at top and bottom of the list, and servers with less than 10,000 people both at top and bottom of the list. So there seems to be more to it than just population.

I am on a Normal server. I can’t imagine what the Isle of Quel’Danas looks like on a PvP server. You probably can’t even get off of the gryphon without tripping on the piles of bones. Is it a reasonable conclusion that the PvP fighting is discouraging players from doing the daily quests? Are PvP servers gimping their own progress by their lack of cooperation?

14 Responses to “Server progress – PvE vs PvP”


  1. 1 Elton
    March 31, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Probably, but thats the price you pay for joing a PvP realm.

    Shame not that many people read (or at least comment) here….

  2. 2 Rishkkin
    April 1, 2008 at 8:00 am

    We read, just rarely comment.

    I used to play on a PvP server and went to a PvE server after seeing how much progression was slowed on the PvP server.

  3. 3 arb
    April 1, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I have to say that playing the SSO quests on a PvP server can sometimes be interesting. At the moment it’s the exception rather than the rule that there is a mass fight on the Isle or in Hellfire Peninsula, but it’s fun for a change. I still do them religiously – I rolled on a PvP server because I enjoy that aspect of the game.

  4. April 3, 2008 at 10:41 am

    What I find interesting is all the flagged Horde I see on the island. I never see a flagged Alliance player (maybe there were some, but no doubt ganked and gone…I do see bones). Guess I just don’t understand that mentality (and I’m not trying to sound anti-Horde here). Hmm…this might be a good topic for an article… :)

    *grin* Link love incoming, Noob!

  5. April 3, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I am actually on a PvP server (not my choice, my brother dragged me there and I, back then, had no idea what PvP stands for…) and it is slowing down progress a big deal.

    When I enter the Isle, I am prepared to be dying at LEAST three times through Alliance’s hands. As Horde is (as with many servers) in the minority and I am not well equipped, I am an easy target for almost everybody (well, not so much with my warlock but with the rest of my alts ;)).

    I didn’t even do the quests on the Isle during the first days. Flew there once on the first day, turned around the minute I landed as I realized everything was red. Saw many horde players do the same.
    It is slightly getting better now and I am used to doing new content while constantly dying anyways. We also decided to do the Isle quests together in the evening as a guild (only three or four of us), which seems to be even more provoking and drove the guys in my group nuts (none of us is a fan of open-PvP, especially not if we are there to do some quests and be part of the progressing).
    The last two days, a new “fun” thing to do came up on both sides (I have no idea who started it, the potential definitely is on both): Someone positions himself on the very spot of one of the quest-giving NPCs. Thus, it becomes almost impossible to get a quest without clicking “accidentally” on the player (who probably sees himself as being extremely funny and witty) and – quite logically – aggroing the guards if that player is of the opposed side (note that is almost as annoying if you are on the same, as it is still as hard to get the quest. Only difference is you’re not dying while trying). Results in being dead again, this time before getting started on the quests. Worst case: you are dead and even failed to obtain the quest.
    It can really kill the fun.
    Yesterday, I saw one of these players standing on a NPC and decided to come back later. Half an hour later, he was still there. “bur”-ing all the time. I am NOT exaggerating here. Not at all.

    I really don’t get it. Where is the fun in it? If anyone could explain that to me, I would be grateful. I don’t know if people don’t realize they are working against there own interests this way. Everyday, I see people lamenting on trade channel that they want to get the new badge rewards, crying that other servers are so far ahead. And I am quite sure it is the same on Alliance’s channels. Perhaps I am just on the worst server ever… But I think the rankings reflect the situation on PvP servers very well.
    I don’t mean to /whine. As I told you, I am used to it, it doesn’t bother me too much.
    I just really don’t get it.

  6. April 3, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    @Jarla: Rather than clicking the NPC itself, click the “?” or “!” over their heads. It’s an extension of the character model that player characters can’t emulate. :)

  7. April 4, 2008 at 3:25 am

    @Kestrel: Wow. Thanks so much! :D
    Argh, why didn’t I even think of that?!
    If there weren’t so many others doing the same, I’d feel really dumb right now. On the other hand, other people’s stupidity doesn’t excuse your own, does it? ;)

  8. April 4, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    @ Kestrel: Thanks for the link!

    @Jarla: I really don’t get it either. I can see some people getting joy from various forms of griefing. Its just like high school with the malicious pranks and annoyances, but with the added benefit of complete anonymity. But you would think that would get old long before you hit level 70. So I am also befuddled by it.

  9. 9 Daha
    May 22, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I am on a PvP server – we were in the bottom 30 for the entire progression of the SSO phases (I have been watching them move along… as of 5/21 we still had not unlocked the gem vendor)

    Obviously being on a PvP realm slows this progress. I am alliance and horde outnumber us 3:1 I believe according to the census site, so sometimes it can be dangerous to go. BUT – it is fun as hell to run around and gank horde trying to do their dailies. I average about 50 honor kills a day on the island – I already got my ‘of the Shattered Sun’ title so I don’t bother doing dailies anymore.

    Sure PvE realms progress faster, but you are missing out on a huge aspect of the game – the fun and frustration of ganking and being ganked.

  10. November 11, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    lol i am on a PvP server and doing your dailys isnt as bad as you think it would be.. i mean somethins you got ur lil badass kids that gank u at half health but other then that its all ok. just thought id let you kno ;D

  11. 11 Celano
    November 1, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Sure, being camped by 3 level 70+ yahoos when you’re level 30 is so “fun”. Unfortunately I lacked the level of masochism it takes to enjoy that. Nor do I take pleasure in one-shotting folks ten more more levels below me, it’s just boring. I guess I lack the proper level of meaness for that too. It’s okay, once I realized there were servers where you didn’t have to put up with that I moved on and was happy. ^.^

  12. March 30, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    These two forms of using the word’roll form’ will
    be used indistinguishably throughout this manuscript.
    It often comes in two varieties one with dual flexible sides and one that has a hard side and a flexible side that
    looks a lot like wood molding. Many home improvement stores carry Wayne Dalton parts and doors so they would have additional resources for you.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,308 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

